Apple Crunch Pie with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This recipe is excellent for church picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
I never thought I would hear myself say this, but it was just a little too sweet and sticky to be a pie. The crust came out too hard, possibly my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This is excellent! Very, very sweet! My husband does not like apple pie or any fruit pie, he took a little bite of mine and then grabbed his own piece! What a hit! Next, I think I an going to try it with peaches!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This recipe was a big hit with everyone who ate it. I made up 2 more for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Best Apple pie ever!!! I have made it several times. I have even thrown them in the freezer! They turn out wonderful. This pie has become my signature pie and I get requests for it all the time. It is not expensive to make either (an added bonas!) I do not make the vanilla sauce and serve it with home made ice cream insted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This pie was very tastey, but mine was kind of thin. I think 3 Tbsp. butter on the top is too much. I would probablly try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
OMG! This pie is fantastic. I and my friends who are also on all recipes, have made this twice for our friends at school. We are in college and this recipe is so easy, it can be made right in the dorm kitchens. Each time we made it, we brought it to parties and everyone was begging for a slice. I love this pie and even those who think all the cinnamon would be too strong, it's not. It tastes absolutely delicious and 30 college students don't lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I can't speak about the pie because I didn't make it, but I did make the vanilla sauce and it was excellent!! Almost like a "loose" vanilla pudding. I served it over ice cream puffs, but it could have many uses. It's easy to make, and nice and thick. I kept it warm all evening in a jar in some warm water on the stove, and it kept perfectly - never separated. I might use less sugar next time, but it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This pie was fun and easy to make...even at a college with less than stellar equipment. My friends and I love it, so I can't wait for apples to be more affordable again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
My family really loves this recipe and Im making it for the second time tonight. I didnt make any changes except for using a little less sugar and using apple pie spice in place of cinnamon. If you cant find the cinnamon chips, check out a Meijer if you have them near you. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States