Apple Crunch Pie with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I can't speak about the pie because I didn't make it, but I did make the vanilla sauce and it was excellent!! Almost like a "loose" vanilla pudding. I served it over ice cream puffs, but it could have many uses. It's easy to make, and nice and thick. I kept it warm all evening in a jar in some warm water on the stove, and it kept perfectly - never separated. I might use less sugar next time, but it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This was a very, very sweet apple pie. It was delicious but I will cut down on the amount of sugar and/or cinnamon chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
OMG! This pie is fantastic. I and my friends who are also on all recipes, have made this twice for our friends at school. We are in college and this recipe is so easy, it can be made right in the dorm kitchens. Each time we made it, we brought it to parties and everyone was begging for a slice. I love this pie and even those who think all the cinnamon would be too strong, it's not. It tastes absolutely delicious and 30 college students don't lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Best Apple pie ever!!! I have made it several times. I have even thrown them in the freezer! They turn out wonderful. This pie has become my signature pie and I get requests for it all the time. It is not expensive to make either (an added bonas!) I do not make the vanilla sauce and serve it with home made ice cream insted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The best recipe I have found for apple pie. It was a little too sweet. I suggest reducing the amount of sugar and cinnamon chips. The topping is outrageous. This was a great hit at Thanksgiving. Highly recommend this recipe! Cookie Snyder, Miami, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This pie was very tastey, but mine was kind of thin. I think 3 Tbsp. butter on the top is too much. I would probablly try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This is excellent! Very, very sweet! My husband does not like apple pie or any fruit pie, he took a little bite of mine and then grabbed his own piece! What a hit! Next, I think I an going to try it with peaches!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like one of the earlier reviewers, I didn't made the pie but I made the vanilla sauce - and it was fantastic. It actually turns out with a custard taste. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this pie! I make it for all winter/fall holidays. My in-laws adore the flavor and it smells wonderful baking. The only problem has been finding the cinnamon chips out of seasonal times. I can order them from Hershey but they only send a case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States