Apple Crunch Pie with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
THE BEST APPLE PIE EVER!! This was sooo good. I will never make apple pie any other way. It's all about those cinnamon chips! WOW! I made the sauce too. I was a little worried I would not like it but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Wonderful Recipe, Smells amazing the neighbor stopped by! After an endless search I found the cinnamon chips at Hy-Vee. I wasn't able to make the vanilla sauce to go with it but the rest was amazing as is and great with vanilla ice cream. However, I am anxious to try to make sauce. This is definetly thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Delicious recipe... we couldn't find cinnamon chips, so we substituted butterscotch chips instead and added extra cinnamon. The pie was a bit too sweet, like others have said. And I don't know what I did wrong, but mine turned out more like a soup than a pie? Oh well... it was delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
My family really loves this recipe and Im making it for the second time tonight. I didnt make any changes except for using a little less sugar and using apple pie spice in place of cinnamon. If you cant find the cinnamon chips, check out a Meijer if you have them near you. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Taste fabulous eventhough the Hershey's cinnamon chips were unable to be found in any of my local grocery stores. I sure it would be even better if I could have added them. I will try again soon it I can locate this ingredient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This pie was fun and easy to make...even at a college with less than stellar equipment. My friends and I love it, so I can't wait for apples to be more affordable again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I can't speak about the pie because I didn't make it, but I did make the vanilla sauce and it was excellent!! Almost like a "loose" vanilla pudding. I served it over ice cream puffs, but it could have many uses. It's easy to make, and nice and thick. I kept it warm all evening in a jar in some warm water on the stove, and it kept perfectly - never separated. I might use less sugar next time, but it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
OMG! This pie is fantastic. I and my friends who are also on all recipes, have made this twice for our friends at school. We are in college and this recipe is so easy, it can be made right in the dorm kitchens. Each time we made it, we brought it to parties and everyone was begging for a slice. I love this pie and even those who think all the cinnamon would be too strong, it's not. It tastes absolutely delicious and 30 college students don't lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This pie was too sweet, but I'm not a big sweet fan to begin with. It seemed more like a cobbler than pie (due to the consistency-might have been my fault). And, I forgot to use the vanilla sauce so I really can't give an accurate review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The best recipe I have found for apple pie. It was a little too sweet. I suggest reducing the amount of sugar and cinnamon chips. The topping is outrageous. This was a great hit at Thanksgiving. Highly recommend this recipe! Cookie Snyder, Miami, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States