Apple Crunch Pie with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I didn't make the pie, but I did make the vanilla sauce!! OMG - this is wonderful! I did not use a double boiler, just a small sauce pan on low heat and stirred constantly. I slightly decreased the sugar and used Demerera sugar. Didn't think it was ever going to thicken up, then voila! It took about 20 minutes I think. When it was done and I added the vanilla, I then put it through a fine strainer to get the egg bits out. (Using it on bread pudding.) It is sooooo good - I'm saving this on my PC! Thanks so much! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stellarcook368
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious! Much better and spicier than the typical apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this pie! I make it for all winter/fall holidays. My in-laws adore the flavor and it smells wonderful baking. The only problem has been finding the cinnamon chips out of seasonal times. I can order them from Hershey but they only send a case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like one of the earlier reviewers, I didn't made the pie but I made the vanilla sauce - and it was fantastic. It actually turns out with a custard taste. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This pie didn't work; the filling was very runny (we had to scoop it out with a spoon), and the crumble was thick and unappetizing (I should have used cold vs. room temperature butter). We ended up throwing out most of it. I've since read that any fruit filling for pie should first be cooked on the stovetop before it's added to the shell and baked; this prevents the fruit from releasing its juices during baking and making the filling runny. I also couldn't find cinammon chips anywhere. In fact, I've never heard of them. I used butterscotch chips instead, but I think the chips contributed to how liquid the filling was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This pie tasted great only it is way too sweet! It's good but you can only have a SMALL serving and even that is too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddy's girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this sauce to top an apple crunch cake & it's wonderful. I didn't want to go to the trouble of assembling my double boiler, just cooked on lowest setting and stirred constantly. Nice flavor and consistency. Thanks for a yummy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beattie-Bolin
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I got so many raves for this recipe with a crust recipe if also found on this site. I made it for Thanksgiving and as a house-warming gift...both didn't survive the hour! The only change I made that was instead of the Hershey chips i used ginger snaps (crushed them up in a food processor) and on the second one I also added about a table spoon of maple syrup to the topping to make it stickier and it made it so much yummier! I will be making this a staple of our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I also found the pie too soupy...the thing was oozing liquid all through baking and for several minutes afterwords! (Put it on a deep cookie sheet.) I'm assuming it was due to the amount of butter, and yet it doesn't taste buttery; so perhaps the soupyness just has to be lived with, if increasing the flour or adding cornstarch doesn't help. I was afraid this pie would be too sweet but I honestly don't think it was. Its hard finding things to do with the Hershey's cinnamon chips and I do think this is a good use of one full bag. I served the pie with ice cream rather than making the sauce so I can't comment on the sauce recipe. I do recommend the pie recipe, although again increasing the flour or adding cornstarch may be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I gave this recipe 3 stars for presentation and preparation, and 4 stars for taste. I had a similar experience as some other reviewers where my pie came out very soupy. And the vanilla sauce did not thicken for me at all, although that could have been due to not having a proper double boiler. I would probably make this again b/c I am a huge cinnamon fan, but I would lessen the amounts of a few ingredients, and forget the vanilla sauce altogether. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States