Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I was looking for a apple crunch recipe like my mom used to make and this one is as close to it as it gets. My family liked it so much that it dissapeared in a flash. My daughter came home from school looking for another piece but nothing was left. Now I am making a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This is the best apple pie recipe I have ever tried and I have tried a lot. I would not change a thing and I can't wait for my apples to be ripe again this year to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
this is very good, however, i felt there were too many apples. maybe mine were too big to start with. the overall flavor was wonderful. i think i will use more sugar in the filling. needed a little more for my taste. overall, worth the effort of peeling all the apples! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I have never made apple pie before and thought I would give it a try. I only had 4 apples and did not think that it would be enough... I was wrong. Even with just 4 apples the pie turned out GREAT. I loved the topping, and the filling was absolutely delicious, my friends loved it. I will definately be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Finally, an apple pie recipe I can give five stars to! I've made this three times now, tweaking it a bit each time and this last time was the best. Notes: 5 and a half granny smiths instead of 7 okay. May want to lower tartness by using a couple apples of a different type. Add 1/3 cup brown sugar in the filling along with the 1/2 cup white sugar. Add 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/16 tsp ground cloves. Cut apples really thin and spiral when laying it out in pan. Crumb topping is a bit powdery, needs work... turns out crispy and sweet which works well with the tartness of the apples. May lower heat a bit since topping was dark. Didn't affect taste, just the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
A definite winner!!!! Easy to follow directions and the result is awesome!!! Everyone I fed this to loved it...the perfect combination of tart apples with a sweet, crunchy cinnamon topping. Don't be put off by the 1/2 cup butter...follow the instructions exactly and you'll be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Could taste the molasses just a tad from the brown sugar. Recipe even worked putting apples in pie shell first and then moving apples to work flour,sugar,spice mixture down. Liked subbing quick oats to 1/3 of topping mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was a big hit with my husband. I wanted to test it out before making it for Thanksgiving. It was so simple and delicious. I will be making this one for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Simply DELICIOUS !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
"This is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. It was excellent. I believe that's the best damned pie I've ever had." That's what my Dad said and apple is FAR from his favorite pie....I thought this was very easy to make and the directions and recipe were right on....Thanks Lisa for my new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States