Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This pie came out wonderful!! I love a pie where I can buy the shell and this one tastes positevely delicious! The oven almost burnt the top so I followed directions and put a tin-foil covering on it - that helped alot. Be sure to watch for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
The apple pie was delicious! The only thing I changed was leaving out 2 apples. My Granny Smith apples I bought were big. The topping came out a little hard and I think got over baked so the next time I'll put foil on top of it for the first 30-40 minutes and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
My best friend introduced me to this pie when he entered it - and WON - a company-wide baking competition! It was sooo delicious that at least 20 people begged him for the recipe. Since then I've been hooked! I make it whenever I have company, serving it hot out of the oven with a dollop of vanilla bean ice cream! I am always flustered by the overwhelming compliments. Warning, though: this pie is messy - don't expect a clean slice!!!! Also, I usually end up filling 2 pie crusts with the filling (it makes a LOT) then double the topping recipe. DEEEEE-LISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Was pretty easy to make, and went over Big at Bible study. I added extra cinnamon, Vanilla and Nutmeg because I like the strong flavor in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is easy to make and very good. My husband is "demanding" that I make another one, and we just finished the first one today! I used Macon apples, but I am sure it is good with what ever type of apple that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is the only apple pie recipe I will ever make again. The crispy topping is such a nice change from the regular two-crust method. It only takes about 6 good sized apples to make a mile-high pie. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I am not an experienced cook and this was the first pie recipe I have ever attempted. I have to say that this was by far the best apple pie I have EVER tasted and I was astounded that i'd cooked the thing myself. I subsituted Granny Smiths for English Braberns as I felt that UK Granny Smiths don't have enough tartness for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Yummy yum yum! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I was looking for a apple crunch recipe like my mom used to make and this one is as close to it as it gets. My family liked it so much that it dissapeared in a flash. My daughter came home from school looking for another piece but nothing was left. Now I am making a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This is the best apple pie recipe I have ever tried and I have tried a lot. I would not change a thing and I can't wait for my apples to be ripe again this year to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States