Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Absolutely delish!! This pie is my hubby's favorite pie. We love the crunchy texture of the topping coupled with the perfectly sweetened apple filling. I am able to fit all of the apple filling with all of the topping in my pie....I'm not sure why others are having problems with fitting all of the ingredients in their pies??? Please try this recipe...you will not be sorry! Thanks for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanaC
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great and easy pie! First time making it. Baked for a total of 50 minutes and it was perfect. Made three modifications: 1. Added chopped up pecans to the topping 2. Added 1 tsp vanilla to the apple mixture 3. Moved oven rack to bottom position and covered edges 15 minutes in w/foil to prevent burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was fabulous! Very easy to make...my 10 year old daughter made most of it for Thanksgiving dessert! It had a sweet crunchy topping and the apples were cooked perfectly!! I did lower the temperature a bit to 425 degrees as one reviewer suggested and I didnt put all the flour in the topping which another reviewer suggested. All in all I will definately be baking this pie again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very good. I used all granny smith apples, which was a little tart. Next time I will use a mix granny smith and sweeter varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I absolutely love this pie! I've made it for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year for the last 5 years, and it's still requested every time! My whole family loves it, and it's pretty easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Loved this pie! So did company! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
VERY good recipe! I made this for my coworkers and it was gone in less than an hour!!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Perfect! I baked in a 9" square pan and followed to a "T" The only thing I would do next time is to add only 3/4 of the topping. This is a yummy apple crunch delight! Very sweet, goes great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This pie is a winner! I make it all the time for dinner guests, church potlucks, etc. About the only variation I do is adding some pumpkin pie spice to the apple mixture for a little more flavor. Do be sure to slice your apples thinly unless you like a lot of crunch. I suggest covering loosely with foil when you turn the heat down to avoid getting the top too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States