Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
My best friend introduced me to this pie when he entered it - and WON - a company-wide baking competition! It was sooo delicious that at least 20 people begged him for the recipe. Since then I've been hooked! I make it whenever I have company, serving it hot out of the oven with a dollop of vanilla bean ice cream! I am always flustered by the overwhelming compliments. Warning, though: this pie is messy - don't expect a clean slice!!!! Also, I usually end up filling 2 pie crusts with the filling (it makes a LOT) then double the topping recipe. DEEEEE-LISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Finally, an apple pie recipe I can give five stars to! I've made this three times now, tweaking it a bit each time and this last time was the best. Notes: 5 and a half granny smiths instead of 7 okay. May want to lower tartness by using a couple apples of a different type. Add 1/3 cup brown sugar in the filling along with the 1/2 cup white sugar. Add 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/16 tsp ground cloves. Cut apples really thin and spiral when laying it out in pan. Crumb topping is a bit powdery, needs work... turns out crispy and sweet which works well with the tartness of the apples. May lower heat a bit since topping was dark. Didn't affect taste, just the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I have made this pie twice now, and both times it came out fantastic. The first time I did not use all of the topping, nor did I pat it down, thus, it created a wonderfully crumbley texture for the top. The second time I patted it down and it made more like a crust. Both are great, just different effects. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Easy to make and delicious! You can even use two prebaked regular crust instead of one deepdish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Very good recipe! I used a mix of apples (didnt have any granny smith at the time) and it turned out fine. Pile up the apples, because they do sink down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Awwwwwwwesooooome. I made this for my roommates tonight and we loved it. The said it was better than this pie restaurant that we love. :) I think next time I will cook the crust longer before I put the pie filling in so it doesn't get soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a great apple pie - the taste was perfect: tangy and just sweet enough. I must have sliced my apples a little too thin because the filling came out like applesauce (after all that work of spiraling them!) and I like a little stiffness to my apples so you can tell they are apple slices! The topping was great - beware to not pat it down too firmly or it becomes very hard. Can't wait to try the topping just crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Absolutely delish!! This pie is my hubby's favorite pie. We love the crunchy texture of the topping coupled with the perfectly sweetened apple filling. I am able to fit all of the apple filling with all of the topping in my pie....I'm not sure why others are having problems with fitting all of the ingredients in their pies??? Please try this recipe...you will not be sorry! Thanks for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Perfect! I baked in a 9" square pan and followed to a "T" The only thing I would do next time is to add only 3/4 of the topping. This is a yummy apple crunch delight! Very sweet, goes great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
So good!! The best apple pie I have ever eaten/made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States