Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This pie is a winner! I make it all the time for dinner guests, church potlucks, etc. About the only variation I do is adding some pumpkin pie spice to the apple mixture for a little more flavor. Do be sure to slice your apples thinly unless you like a lot of crunch. I suggest covering loosely with foil when you turn the heat down to avoid getting the top too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My hubby and sister said that this is the ultimate apple pie and I should never use any other recipe!! I changed nothing this time, but next time I will cut the topping in half because it boiled over onto the baking dish that I (luckily) had underneath the pie! It was way more topping than necessary and I actually had to throw some away! I just sprinkled it on top instead of patting it down and the presentation was gorgeous. My sister ate it warmed in the microwave with butter pecan ice cream, yum! Thanks a lot for this easy and delicous recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Awwwwwwwesooooome. I made this for my roommates tonight and we loved it. The said it was better than this pie restaurant that we love. :) I think next time I will cook the crust longer before I put the pie filling in so it doesn't get soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Absolutely suburb pie! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I thought the apple filling and crunch topping were excellent, but did anyone else burn their crust? I think the low rack position and high temperature gave a little too much heat. Did this happen to anyone else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was delicious. I'm celiac, and made it with a gluten free pie crust and replaced flour with a gluten free flour mix. I wouldn't change a thing. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe is good. My family liked it more than me. I just didn't like the topping as much I thought it would be crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Loved it. Was a hit with the kids and adults alike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I think I might owe my boyfriend's parents fondness for me to this pie. I brought them one when I first met them and his dad didn't stop talking about it for weeks. Everyone I've made this pie for has LOVED it. The brown sugar crust really makes it something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Rubin Flach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States