Apple Crunch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JanaC
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great and easy pie! First time making it. Baked for a total of 50 minutes and it was perfect. Made three modifications: 1. Added chopped up pecans to the topping 2. Added 1 tsp vanilla to the apple mixture 3. Moved oven rack to bottom position and covered edges 15 minutes in w/foil to prevent burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was fabulous! Very easy to make...my 10 year old daughter made most of it for Thanksgiving dessert! It had a sweet crunchy topping and the apples were cooked perfectly!! I did lower the temperature a bit to 425 degrees as one reviewer suggested and I didnt put all the flour in the topping which another reviewer suggested. All in all I will definately be baking this pie again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very good. I used all granny smith apples, which was a little tart. Next time I will use a mix granny smith and sweeter varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I absolutely love this pie! I've made it for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year for the last 5 years, and it's still requested every time! My whole family loves it, and it's pretty easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Loved this pie! So did company! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
VERY good recipe! I made this for my coworkers and it was gone in less than an hour!!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Perfect! I baked in a 9" square pan and followed to a "T" The only thing I would do next time is to add only 3/4 of the topping. This is a yummy apple crunch delight! Very sweet, goes great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This pie is a winner! I make it all the time for dinner guests, church potlucks, etc. About the only variation I do is adding some pumpkin pie spice to the apple mixture for a little more flavor. Do be sure to slice your apples thinly unless you like a lot of crunch. I suggest covering loosely with foil when you turn the heat down to avoid getting the top too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My hubby and sister said that this is the ultimate apple pie and I should never use any other recipe!! I changed nothing this time, but next time I will cut the topping in half because it boiled over onto the baking dish that I (luckily) had underneath the pie! It was way more topping than necessary and I actually had to throw some away! I just sprinkled it on top instead of patting it down and the presentation was gorgeous. My sister ate it warmed in the microwave with butter pecan ice cream, yum! Thanks a lot for this easy and delicous recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States