Apple Crumble Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Loved this recipe! It was super easy using the puff pastry too! The only thing I did differently was to omit the egg yolks in the sauce - maybe next time I'll be braver about that! (I had to thicken it up a little with 1/2 tsp. cornstarch)I also poured the wine sauce directly over the tart and I think I'd prefer to do that individually next time as it made it a little soupy. Maybe if I hadn't left out the egg yolks it would've been fine? It was still a GREAT recipe and next time I'll add a little oatmeal to crunch it up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is a DELICIOUS recipe! I substitued oats for the almonds, since some of my family don't care for nuts. And instead of making the sauce, used a caramel sauce drizzled over it. Yumm! This is bound to be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This is good. My daughters really enjoyed it. It is very light and looks good. I liked the sauce, but it did not travel well. It needs to be used immediately after cooking. Otherwise, great recipe and I look forward to playing with it a bit (for examplee, trying brown sugar instead of white, adding a curd under the apples, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great recipe, you can dress it up with the sherry or you could dress it down with caramel depending on your main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe is great! perfect with chocalte pudding and whipcream.A delicous recipe that everyone must love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This recipe turned out great and was a huge hit with the crowd we fed. In fact, the last person to leave asked me for the aluminum foil and took the tray and all home with he and his wife! How funny! I did add one envelope of the instant Quaker Oats Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal to the crumb topping. It really made the difference. I also served this with Bryers Real Vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! I skipped the wine sauce and served it with vanilla ice cream and hot caramel sauce. I made 6 individual tarts rather than one big one by using a 10 oz package of puff pastry shells and rolling each shell into a 5 inch circle. It was a big hit at a recent dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Really yummy dessert. You can also use dessert shells if you like and bake the apple part separately and then fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe was a great change of pace from the usual apple pie. I love apples and this recipe is now among my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Lovely in every way. We made this with Golden Delicious apples, and it was just right - perfect flavour and perfect texture. The dessert sauce was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States