Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious! Made exactly as the recipe states, once w/ Honeycrisp and once with Granny Smith. Will make again, probably will need to put tin foil around the edges of the crust to prevent turning too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used a honey-maid graham cracker crust that I had just made prior to filling it with this recipe, and Oh my goodness, this dessert turned out WONDERFULLY! I took some to my neighbor, turned my head, and when I looked back he had already eaten it. This is definitely going on my table as part of Christmas dinner. Super yummy and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I make this pie every thanksgiving and it goes so fast everyone in my family absolutely love it. The only thing I did different is I added a little nutmeg to the sugar and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
So easy to make, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRCroft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
to die for.... amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
SUPER YUM! I combined the apples with flour, brown sugar and white sugar as recommended in previous posts. I love cinnamon so put in 1 teaspoon with the apple mixture. I also lowered the baking temperature to 350 and baked for an hour and 15 minutes. I served it with whipped cream flavored with vanilla extract. It turned out so good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very nice crumble pie. As suggested by others, added ~1/4C flour to the sugar and cinnamon for the apples and mixed all before putting in pie shell. I did use dark brown sugar instead of white in the topping and added a handful of chopped walnuts as well. Also used a bit more apple. VERY well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great pie recipe, thanks for sharing! This recipe works perfectly every time for me with the following method: I mix the apples with the sugar & cinnamon (increased to heaping 1 tsp.) AND add 3 TBSP. of flour. I "dot" the top of the apple mixture with a few TBSP. of butter before adding the crumble. I bake this at 350 for 60 minutes with the outer crust covered. This has been my "go-to" pie for years. I have found that 3-4 large Granny Smith is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I loved this pie! I used the flaky pie crust recipe from this site and I mixed brown sugar per recommendations with the white sugar. I also mixed in about 1/4 cup of pecans. For the topping I also added a little bit of salt to enhance the flavor. Very good, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious! I followed the advice of others and used just shy of 1/4 cup of flour in the filling and half brown and half white sugar. I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and mixed the sugar, cinnamon and flour together with the apples instead of sprinkling over them. I let the coated apples sit for about 10 minutes and they produced a nice, syrupy juice that I poured over after piling them into the crust - it created a nice, thick sauce after baking! I also used half brown and half white sugar in the crumble topping. This is a simple recipe that wins every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States