Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very nice crumble pie. As suggested by others, added ~1/4C flour to the sugar and cinnamon for the apples and mixed all before putting in pie shell. I did use dark brown sugar instead of white in the topping and added a handful of chopped walnuts as well. Also used a bit more apple. VERY well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great pie recipe, thanks for sharing! This recipe works perfectly every time for me with the following method: I mix the apples with the sugar & cinnamon (increased to heaping 1 tsp.) AND add 3 TBSP. of flour. I "dot" the top of the apple mixture with a few TBSP. of butter before adding the crumble. I bake this at 350 for 60 minutes with the outer crust covered. This has been my "go-to" pie for years. I have found that 3-4 large Granny Smith is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I loved this pie! I used the flaky pie crust recipe from this site and I mixed brown sugar per recommendations with the white sugar. I also mixed in about 1/4 cup of pecans. For the topping I also added a little bit of salt to enhance the flavor. Very good, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious! I followed the advice of others and used just shy of 1/4 cup of flour in the filling and half brown and half white sugar. I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and mixed the sugar, cinnamon and flour together with the apples instead of sprinkling over them. I let the coated apples sit for about 10 minutes and they produced a nice, syrupy juice that I poured over after piling them into the crust - it created a nice, thick sauce after baking! I also used half brown and half white sugar in the crumble topping. This is a simple recipe that wins every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious! Love the topping, and paired with ice cream it was heavenly! Easy to make too! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I did modify it like another user and used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Good, quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie was amazing! I am filling out this review as a means of stopping myself from getting a second helping. The only change I made was adding a whole teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I let mine cook about 15 minutes longer to help the apples bubble longer and become more tender. It was a big hit in my house with my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made six pie,s I had so many apples I had no choice.I am so glad I picked this recipe,it will be the only apple pie I ever make again. I as others did change a few thing,s.I will try it without oatmeal next time just for the sake of trying it. But we loved it.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States