Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So easy and soooo good. I made a few changes.I added a bit of flour (1-2 tablespoon) to the sugar/cinnamon mixture and then poured this over my apple slices, making sure that they were well coated. I have also made this with a mixture of gala /granny smith apples, along with a tablespoon of lemon juice. Makes for a nice tart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Delish!!! So easy too!! My kids basically did this on their own besides the cutting. Def a holiday staple now :) THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolemo3 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The best apple pie ever!! Followed other suggestions and tossed apples in 1/4 c flour first and also added 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to sugar/cinnamon mix. Made this with freshly picked pink lady apples and it was unbelievably good. Highly reccommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I used a bought pastry crust and lined my pie plate with this. I also used 2 tins of pie apple and added 1/2-1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1-2 tbsp of brown sugar.I tossed together my apple mix before adding to the pie shell. To thicken the juice I also added some flour. For the streusel topping I used mostly brown sugar. Overall it was really yummy, I loved the streusel topping and so did the rest of my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Pretty darn tasty! I added 1/3 cup of crushed walnuts to the apple mixture. I like the added crunch. I did also double the crumb mixture. I will be using this recipe again. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornwall Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
GOOD LORD THIS IS GOOD. An autumn staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Absolutely amazing pie!! I followed other's suggestion and mixed some flour and brown sugar to the apples (Granny Smith) in a bowl before putting them in the pie dish. Another interesting thing that I tried was- I drained out the juices from the apples, mixed it with a blob of butter and a dash of vanilla extract, and caramelized it to thicken it. I dabbled it over the apple mixture. It gave an absolutely wonderful flavor!! Would definitely make this pie again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is a VERY easy recipe and I've gotten these compliments: "This is the best apple pie I've had in my entire life"; "You should enter contests with this recipe. You'd win" Awesome for me since this was the first time I'd ever made an apple pie! I use the "French Pastry Pie Crust" recipe on this site and use other reviewers suggestions of: instead of ALL white, use 1/4c Brown & 1/4c white; and add slightly less than 1/4 c flour to sprinkle over apples. I also substitute some brown for the crumble mixture. If you can increase the crumble, I recommend it. This is a quick, easy recipe that I guarantee you'll like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startedat41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
WOW! I was looking for an apple pie recipe similar to my friend mom's recipe and this was the closest to it. She makes her own crust and I used a Pillsbury ready to bake pie crust. I did mix my apples with 1 1/2 Tbsp of flour, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1/2 white sugar and 1 tbsp lemon juice. The crumble tastes like sugar cookies because it got a little crunchy. I made some homemade whipped cream to go along with it (Alton Brown's recipe). I didn't give it 5 stars because I felt it was waaaaay tooo sweet. Next time I will use GRANNY SMITH apples, cut back on the sugar, mix in more spices in the filling and crumble. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha M.I.A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States