Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Good, quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie was amazing! I am filling out this review as a means of stopping myself from getting a second helping. The only change I made was adding a whole teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I let mine cook about 15 minutes longer to help the apples bubble longer and become more tender. It was a big hit in my house with my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made six pie,s I had so many apples I had no choice.I am so glad I picked this recipe,it will be the only apple pie I ever make again. I as others did change a few thing,s.I will try it without oatmeal next time just for the sake of trying it. But we loved it.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Delicious! I mixed the apples with the sugar and flour and added some cinnamon and cloves. But the topping was delicious and its what made it special. I also baked it low and slow. At 325 for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
OMG. Best Apple Pie of my LIFE!!! Only differences: instead of sprinkling the sugar on top of the apples before adding the crumb layer, I mixed the apples, sugar and cinnamon together in a bowl along with 1/4 c. flour. I also used 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar in the apple mixture. I did nothing different to the crumb topping and I used a frozen, store bought crust. AMAZING!!! Shamefully my husband and I just ate TWO slices of pie a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a 5 star recipe with some changes. I listened to other reviews and I made some of my own changes. I used 5 medium/large sized courtland apples. Although it was a heaping pile, the apples do cook and shrink down to the perfect size. For the filling, I tossed the sliced apples with 2-3 tbs of flour, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of white sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 tbs lemon juice and 1 tbs vanilla extract. As for the crumble, I love crumble! I cut down the flour by a lot -- used 1/2 cup of flour, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2/3 - 3/4 cup rolled oats (depending on your preference of oatness), 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 6 tbs of softened butter. You can cut down on the butter but I feel like the butter is crucial as that's what really makes a great crumble. This was my second time being a part of making a crumble pie but my first time making it on my own for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved this and there were no leftovers at the end of the night. It was really easy to make and a great turnout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavedByGrace
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
*Update:* I have made this pie dozens of times. It's the best. **Hands down the best apple pie I've ever made! I doubled the cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg to the apple mixture. Also added 3 TBS of flour to apples. Like other reviewers, I mixed the apples, sugar, spices and flour together then arranged in the pie crust. Added a touch of cinnamon to the topping too. WOW! Baked at 350 for 1 hour (covered outer crust with foil last 20 minutes of baking). Definitely a keeper in my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was dead on my feet when company joined us for supper. I made this at the last minute and it was so easy to throw together! I added a cup of raisins to the apples and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very quick - very easy. Good for the novice baker. I use the apples left over from bags and pre made rolled pie dough. I layer my apples and sugar mixture. I add brown sugar to the top before the flour mixture. Also, I add a little clove to the flour mixture. Perfect pie in 40 min. Add ice cream and caramel and my family is in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States