Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe! As suggested by several reviewers, for the apple filling I added 1/4 cup flour. I also used 1/4 cup brown and a little less than 1/4 cup white sugar for the 1/2 cup all white sugar (since I used 6 yellow delicious apples that are sweeter) mixed the dry ingredients with the apples before placing the filling in the pie crust. Yummy crumble top! I would suggest that when baking the pie, you might cover the crust with foil, or bake it at 425 degrees for 15 min, then turn it down to 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Definitely will make on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I make this at college all the time for my friends, and they all love it! It's really easy to make, and everyone I've made it for absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious and super simple, this quickly became a family favorite...I have thrown in a few raisins, subbed nectarine for some of the apples, used a bit of brown sugar to take place of some of the white sugar in the top "crumbles...all these variations have been exceptional, including the original! Thank you, thank you, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
So good...only thing is I added extra cinnamon and sugar...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent and easy to make! I was very happy with the results. I followed the advice of another and mixed 1/4 cup flour with the apples and then tossed in 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar along with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was EXCELLENT! I used brown sugar and floured the apples as suggested by reviews... I also used red apples, as that was all I had. Worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is very good however next time I will decrease the sugar just a bit. Otherwise we all really liked it and I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Everything has already been said about this pie. It is the easiest pie to make and tastes so good as is. I also add some flour to absorb the juices. The crumble part makes the pie awesome. I get asked for the recipe all the time. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This pie was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! It's so tasty and easy to make. I find that granny smiths are the best apples to use for this recipe--also I use a tsp of cornstarch to thicken the filling. Otherwise, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not a big baker. This recipe is the bomb. Super easy, quite quick actually, very simple. No fuss. I used the basic flaky pie crust recipe from this site. Also simple. Prior to adding apples to crust, I mixed the sugar which has half white half brown sugar, cinnamon and added a bit of flour to soak up the apple juices, all into a bowl to coat the granny smith apples. The pie turned out not to overly sweet by using the tart apples. Fantastic warm with creamy vanilla ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States