Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Read the reviews for adjustments.. 1/4 brown 1/4 white sugar 1/4 cups flour. Mix into sliced apples THEN put in pie crust. Slice very thin 1/4 inch and mound high. Dot with butter, then add crumble made with only brown sugar, you can also add nuts or oatmeal. really good base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very appreciated judging by the fact that there is no pie left! Thank you very very much for this amazing recipe and, to all the members for the suggestions added! (followed Buoniconto* advice: worked well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made this twice and both times it did not work out. First time I thought maybe it was under cooked but second it wasnt, the crust and filling are good but the topping did not work out its like a powder on top. I followed the recipe exactly but used margarine not butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Whittaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samantha
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Hi love this recipe! Minor adjustments. Added 1/4 cup of flour to the apple filling and did not sprinkle the filling ingredients... I mixed them the apples by hand w the flour. I did half white and half brown sugar. Came out perfect! Oh and I added one teaspoon of vanilla to the filling. Added cinnamon to the crumble mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LvnLucy27
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Everyone loved this pie but after cutting the first slice I had to literally turn the pie sideways to drain out all the extra fluid. I'm not a chef so I had no idea you should coat the apples with flour first. With that said, this pie was so tasty, I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Have made this pie twice now and came out with the same results. Both times, it was not as flavorful as it could be and ended up with a watery liquid in the bottom of the crust. Next time, will mix the sugar, cinnamon and 1/4 cup of flour in with the apples before putting in the pie crust. Top the pie with 1/2 cup of flour, butter, sugar and additional cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was really good. I too mixed the sugar/cinnamon into the apples along with a bit of four and put cinnamon in the crumble. I was afraid of burning that great topping so I baked it a little lower and it took longer than expected to get the apples tender yet overall this is a great recipe. This is a 4 1/2 stars recipe with 5 saved for OMG recipes that usually involve cheese. thanks...see you at Thanksgiving next year if not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
delicious, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Made my first pie using this recipe. It was fantastic and a hit with family. I followed the recipe and added the extra flour and used brown sugar mixed with white. DELICIOUS!!! I'll definitely be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAaz Azan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Galolus
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have made this pie 3 times now, always a success! I took the advice of some other reviewers, I used 1/4 cup of white sugar and a little more than a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, rather than just white sugar. I too mixed all the ingredients for the pie filling together rather than simply sprinkling over top. If you don't want a runny pie, add a little more flour. Another change I made was I added caramel syrup, which was fantastic! Also for the crumb topping I added brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 743) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States