Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
outstanding! made for thanksgiving and it won hands down over pecan and pumpkin. LOVE> LOVE>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Always a family hit! My father-in-law ate three slices in one sitting. It's requested every family outing now, and is a cinch to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Awesome! I kept this pie basic and did not add the raisins or nuts for the kids....we all loved it even my non-fruit eating hubby had a sliced and liked it! Easy, juicy and pretty much perfect. Crumb topping was so good on this pie. I did increase the cinnamon to a full tspn. A keeper recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe as written and thought this pie was superb. It was so incredibly easy to make! I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Did not work out well for me. It was very soupy as many of the reviews warned me about. I even increased the flour by a couple of table spoons to avoid this possibility but it was still runny. I thought it would be better the next day but it was the same. I doubled the topping and that ended up being the best part. I think I have to give up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I again had problems with the pie becoming very watery. I used red delicious apples and even added an extra tbsp of flour, HOWEVER, it was still absolutely delish! I will def try again and try to figure out how to make it less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family loved this pie! I did use the lemon juice, to keep the apples nice and tart, but did not use the raisins or walnuts. I found the crumb topping to be just the right amount - completely covering the pie, but not overpowering it. A note about apples: the few negative reviews I've seen on this recipe indicate that the pie was either "tasteless" or "watery". This is most likely because of the type of apples used. I recommend Jonathan apples - they are nicely tart (so the pie has flavour and the amount of sugar used doesn't make it too sweet) and they are not very juicy (unlike, I've found, Granny Smith varieties). Also, I recommend rubbing your pie crust with a little bit of softened butter before adding the filling. This will build up a little barrier between any moisture from the apples, and let the crust get nicely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The best apple pie I have ever had!! Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving this year. I read most reviews and also doubled the crumble mixture on top. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States