Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, decreased the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. For the topping, I added 1/2 cup oats plus 1 1/2 tbsp. butter and I used buckwheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. Brought the pie over to contribute to dinner with a group of friends and it was a hit! Very tasty. I used MacIntosh apples (smaller), next time I'll add a couple more apples because I prefer a higher pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet williams
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I kind of went my own way I did not follow the recipe I didn't add the lemon so I added all spiced apple pie spice and cinnamon brown sugar vanilla and then I cut my butter them mix it well and put it the pie pan and put my crust on top and bake it. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe was amazing. I made 2 pies. One as per the recipe and 1 as per recipe but added walnuts to the crumb and filling. I also added blueberries and raisins to the filling. Both came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I went apple picking today and browsed the web for recipes... soooooo glad I found this one!! My husband hates apple pie and I begged him to try it and he couldn't believe how great it was. I did double the crumble topping amount and added the walnuts. This will be one of my desserts for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Tried it , loved it and gonna make forever! Had to give my son and DIL a whole pie to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We loved this pie. It's very sweet but isn't that what pie is supposed to be? Anyway, I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Makes me think about old friends...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is great. However, for me, it was a little too sweet even though I cut back on the white sugar just a tad. I did double the topping though. Next time I may not double the topping and perhaps it will be better balanced. The topping was super tasty and crispy. The filling was wonderful and perfectly spiced. Very easy recipe. I used the 'Basic Flaky Pie Crust' recipe from this site and rolled it really thin and it turned out perfect. Don't forget to brush the crust with egg white, poke holes in the bottom of the crust and par-bake it for 10 minutes. Then let it cool somewhat and pour the filling inside. This will prevent the crust from becoming soggy, and will add a nice color to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States