Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is the best apple pie I've ever made. Apple pie is my favorite dessert so I've been searching for a great recipe. I used a deep dish pie pan, a combination of Braeburn and Granny Smith apples, 4 tbsp flour, 1 tsp of apple pie spice since it's what I had on hand, 1/2 cup sugar in the filling since I don't like overly sweet desserts. I also added in a big pinch of salt to both the apple filling and crumb topping since all desserts benefit from salt to balance sweetness. I also highly recommend using the lemon juice since it will also balance sweetness. For my tastes next time I will reduce the sugar in the crumb topping but as it is now it is still lovely and delicious. The pie was not runny since I used two additional tbsp of flour. Thank you for a terrific apple pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as directed, and liked how the filling turned out (not runny, flavorful), but I didn't like the crumb topping. I think it made the pie excessively sweet, and that is the first time I've ever said that about any apple pie. I'd only make this recipe again as a standard two-crust lattice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Really good. Used this as a base recipe and made into sweet, little, individual pies =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe was incredibly easy to make! I JUST put it in the oven, but can hardly wait until its done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was an awesome and easy pie. I did make my own crust using the crust portion of the recipe from the "Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie" recipe also awesome and also on this site. My bad for not having walnuts and substituting almonds, I will not do that again, matter of fact I'd probably leave the nuts out completely, but I would definitely make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was one tasty pie! The only changes I made were in some of the spices (I used ginger, allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg,) I added a little cinnamon to the topping, and used an addition 1 Tblsp of butter in the topping. I have made this twice and it has been a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pateachoux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My boyfriend absolutely raved over this pie. We used granny smith apples and gluten-free flour and pie crust. The taste and consistency were perfect. I left it in about 5 minutes longer than specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very Easy and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but the crumbs ended up pretty flat and powdery. I think next time I'll melt the butter rather than just cutting it in. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I used Winesap apples which have a great taste and, although they soften in cooking, they hold their shape and don't become mush; they're great for baking. I didn't use raisins or nuts (don't like raisins and have folks with nut allergies). I made a few alterations - doubled the cinnamon/nutmeg and increased the butter for the crumb topping to 5 Tblsp. Also, I mixed into the pie filling 2 Tblsp of instant tapioca, and let it stand for 15 mins before baking. I had no problems with the pie being watery/runny. Everyone was asking me for this recipe! Best apple pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States