Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wow! This recipe really lives up to it's ratings. I make apple pie every year for Thanksgiving because my mom's thing is pumpkin. And haven't gotten it quite right until this year. I was excited to try this because I find a double crust to be too decadent after the meal. I used the pie crust recipe from How To Cook Everything by Mark Bittman. Then I used 7 granny smith apples, upped the flour (to be mixed with apples) to 1/4 cup. I found the amount of crumb topping to be perfect. I baked it 10 extra minutes because when I went to take it out, the juices still looked pretty liquidy and another 10 minutes did the trick- it was not watery whatsoever. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
made this for Thanksgiving today.I used splenda for the white sugar. I doubled the topping and used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. made this into 2 pies w/2 different shells. Not watery in any way. Husband said it was wonderful and I love it because it tasted great and it was much healthier than many other pies..Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This review is for the crumb topping only; I used a pre-made crust, and my home canned pie filling. I added 1/4 cup of quick oats and, with that addition, there was plenty of topping for the pie. In fact, I couldn't have fit more on if I tried. It's a delicious and easy recipe with less butter used than other recipes I've seen, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Does.anyone know if you make this pie the night.before eating it ifit will still be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great dish. Keona added villian nutmeg, cinnimon, allspecie. great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Delicious, especially with nuts in the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is the best apple pie I've ever tasted. I only had 4 apples (I used Granny Smiths) and that was even too much to fit in the pie shell. I actually used confectioner's sugar in the actual apples instead of regular sugar because that's all I had on hand. I used the lemon juice but not the raisins or the walnuts. I needed a tiny amount of extra butter to make the topping crumbly. The crumb topping was the perfect amount to cover the entire pie. For the little amount of cinnamon and nutmeg you use, it gives the apples a perfect flavor. It was very easy to make and uses very few ingredients. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this pie last night and it was quick, easy, and delicious. I had all the ingredients at home, except for the pie crust. I didn't add raisins or walnuts, but I must say the lemon was essential, and gave a tang to the pie. I mixed white and brown sugar for the pie mixture, I did sub all spice for the nutmeg, and I should have followed the advice of one of the reviews and doubled the crumb toppings. Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Definatly needs a little extra flour all apple pies do especially for granny smith apples...do not use lemon on granny smith a little to tangy...and do double the topping if you like things sweet....great pie WHEN COOLED COMPLETELY...follow the directions and your pie will be AMAZING;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudlersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I used Granny Smith apples. Delicious! My family loved this pie! Definitely will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States