Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I modified this recipe, and loved it. *my pie dish was 8.25 inches. Filling- 5 cups of Granny Smith Apples, 1/4 Cup of Truvia (White Sugar), 2 Tablespoons Flour, 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon Nutmeg Topping- 1 cup flour, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 5 Tablespoons Butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiewahine
Living In: Carolina Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very nice pie! I used 6 med-large Granny Smith apples. The topping was exceptional. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jackie Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
THIS IS THE BEST APPLE PIE EVER.HOWEVER MY WIFE CAN'T EAT NUTMEG SO I USE GROUND CIOVES. I HAVE MADE IT BOTH WAYS. JUST AS GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used 4 teaspoon packets of Truvia instead of the 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe. Of course I altered a few things here and there, I always do. Added brown sugar to the apples and made more crumb topping too. It came scrumptious~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this and added the chopped walnuts, and used three heaping tablespoons of flour in with the apples. Next time I will cut the sugar in half as I thought it was overly sweet. I think the crumble would be better with 1/2 the sugar and add chopped pecans or almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
No optional nuts/raisins, and I did add a little apple pie spice. Awesome recipe. First apple pie I'd made, and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe is my first successful apple pie. Woohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Easy. I reduced the sugar and increased the flour in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I am not a fan of any kind if pie but I made this for my husband. He couldnt waitfor it to cool because the smell was driving him crazy! so we dug into it after 30 mins and it was simply delicious, perfect really. You cannot mess this recipe up. This was my first attempt at baking a pie so I can say this was easy as pie ;) I kept to the instructions completly did not increase the topping or anything else. I used 3 granny smiths and 2 macs, and liquid thickened nicely onced it cooled. This is on the sweeter side of desserts so I might reduce the the white sugar by a couple of tablespoons next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States