Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
omg. sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This pie was AMAZING. The only change I made was tripling the crumb part of the recipe. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I soaked the raisins in hot apple juice before I used them in the apple pie filling. I just made sure to drain them really well before using. I used organic Granny Smith apples and I tripled the spices in the apple pie filling. (We like a really spicy apple pie.) I used pecans in the topping only because we don't like walnuts. The directions didn't say to pre-bake the bottom pie crust which I did at 400 degrees for ten minutes. Halfway through baking the pie, I did cover it with foil so the dutch topping would not burn. Baking at 350 it took just under an hour and twenty minutes to bake. This turned out really well. I'm glad I doubled the spices. Next time, I might add a little spice to the topping as well and I'd cut back just a touch on the sugar in the filling, but that's really just a personal choice. I really liked the combination of the apples and the raisins and the nuts in the topping was a tasty addition. This is a really good dutch apple pie recipe made a little more personal with our own family's favorite touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I did cut back a bit on the sugar to 1/2 cup and felt the filling was sweet enough especially with the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was the first of any kind of pie I've ever made and it was really easy! I've made it twice since the start of the year and everybody has loved it, including me! Serve warmed with ice cream and it's extra tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, except added the walnuts to the crumb topping and deleted the raisins. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Love this recipe. I'm not a big apple fan but this is a great pie. I did double the topping and add nutmeg, clove and cinnamon to the pie and a dash to the topping. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This pie was SOOOOO good and really, really easy to make. LOVE the crumb top. The first time I made it for people...they thought I had bought it from somewhere it was so good. HAHA. I made it as-is and wouldn't recommend changing a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is perfect as is. I made no alterations! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I've baked for over 50 years and tried many different kinds of apple pies.....in my opionion this is the tastiest apple crumb pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States