Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Photo by MrsBattle2011
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I don't understand how anyone's pie came out watery mine came out perfect and gooey...I also added a little brandy to mine and used brown sugar instead of white for the filling...It was soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBattle2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I used 3 crispin and 3 granny smith apples which after slicing I realized was about 11 cups (no raisins or walnuts). I still only used same amt of sugar, cinnamon, flour & nutmeg. I made 2 pies with this amount of filling. I also tripled the crumb mixture and spread on the 2 pies. Absolutely delicious and perect sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was wonderful! I followed the directions as shown and the pie ws perfect! My geusts loved it! Not too sweet, just perfect! I will make this again and again! :-D Thanks Jackie Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have made this pie a few times and it always turns out great! I omit the nutmeg, since I am not a fan. I also increase the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Also, I do not add the optional ingredients(lemon jc, raisins and walnuts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Greg loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jermyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This pie was excellent, however I will only use 1/2 cup of sugar. I did not add the walnut and raisins this time, but I will sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
While it was good, I found it to be WAY too sweet. I'll definitely try it again, but there will be a huge reduction in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
omg. sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This pie was AMAZING. The only change I made was tripling the crumb part of the recipe. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I soaked the raisins in hot apple juice before I used them in the apple pie filling. I just made sure to drain them really well before using. I used organic Granny Smith apples and I tripled the spices in the apple pie filling. (We like a really spicy apple pie.) I used pecans in the topping only because we don't like walnuts. The directions didn't say to pre-bake the bottom pie crust which I did at 400 degrees for ten minutes. Halfway through baking the pie, I did cover it with foil so the dutch topping would not burn. Baking at 350 it took just under an hour and twenty minutes to bake. This turned out really well. I'm glad I doubled the spices. Next time, I might add a little spice to the topping as well and I'd cut back just a touch on the sugar in the filling, but that's really just a personal choice. I really liked the combination of the apples and the raisins and the nuts in the topping was a tasty addition. This is a really good dutch apple pie recipe made a little more personal with our own family's favorite touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States