Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family loved this pie! I did use the lemon juice, to keep the apples nice and tart, but did not use the raisins or walnuts. I found the crumb topping to be just the right amount - completely covering the pie, but not overpowering it. A note about apples: the few negative reviews I've seen on this recipe indicate that the pie was either "tasteless" or "watery". This is most likely because of the type of apples used. I recommend Jonathan apples - they are nicely tart (so the pie has flavour and the amount of sugar used doesn't make it too sweet) and they are not very juicy (unlike, I've found, Granny Smith varieties). Also, I recommend rubbing your pie crust with a little bit of softened butter before adding the filling. This will build up a little barrier between any moisture from the apples, and let the crust get nicely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The best apple pie I have ever had!! Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving this year. I read most reviews and also doubled the crumble mixture on top. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Awesome, my family loved it. I doubled the topping all I can say is yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this pie numerous times now. Every single time, my family raves over how delicious it is. The only changes I make is that I use an entire lime instead of 1 tbsp of lemon juice. I don't add the raisins, although I have added the walnuts a few times. This last time I added fresh cranberries for Thanksgiving and my family raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I never made a apple pie before, I made it for Thanksgiving...This was the most amazing pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Really delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Best pie ever! I made it for thanksgiving dinner but it looked so good I ate it for dessert the night before thanksgiving. But now I have to make another pie tonight. I certainly look forward to the thanksgiving parade tomorrow. Happy Thanksgiving to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Wow! This pie smelled delicious from the start. The combination of spices, nuts, and raisins perfectly complimented the juicy apples. I had picked these apples at my parent's home. Home-made is the best! Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
First pie I ever made and it was delicious! Couldn't be happier. Although my fiance used more like a tbs of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States