Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!! I was looking for a pie recipe with a crumble toping and came across this one. I thought it was the best apple pie I've ever had. I made two pies. I had read some of the comments about there not being enough crumble topping so I made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of topping and it was perfect for the 2 pies I made. I had also read that someone thought the pie was kind of soupy so I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the dry ingredients that get poured over the apples. This recipe is definitely going into my favorites and I thought it was so good that i'm making plates of pie to take to the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Love it! My first time making any apple pie and this recipe made me look like I have been making apple pies for years, the only thing I would do differently is double up on the crumb topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious! I didn't add any optional stuff, and I didn't have nutmeg, so I doubled the cinnamon. Amazing, everyone loved it and the house smelled great. I also doubled the amount of crumb topping, as per previous comments, but I had tons left over, so I'm not entirely sure if it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I was comparing this recipe and another as I made my pie, so my review here is mostly for the filling. It's very good, but too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll cut the sugar to 1/2 cup (which is what the other recipe used). I did like that the topping used brown sugar; I used the 1/2 cup packed brown sugar with 3/4 cup flour and 5 tablespoons butter, plus a few sprinkles of nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves as another reviewer recommended. I had slightly more topping than I needed, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I loved this -- so easy- so basic- fool proof. The type of apples really do make a difference- can be a wee bit runny---I tried a bit of a tart apple to help counter the sugar...--EITHER WAY-- still super Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
the first time i made it with the exact quanitities was too sweet for me but still really good so the next round i cut down the sugar to a little less than 1/2cup to mix with apples with a little more cinnamon and nutmeg and the topping about the same. it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly other than I made enough to make 2 pies and it turned out amazing! The only thing I changed on this is I doubled the crumb topping because this made enough for 2 pies.. I highly recommend this pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Added walnuts, left out raisins as most don't like them here. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States