Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We loved this pie. It's very sweet but isn't that what pie is supposed to be? Anyway, I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Makes me think about old friends...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is great. However, for me, it was a little too sweet even though I cut back on the white sugar just a tad. I did double the topping though. Next time I may not double the topping and perhaps it will be better balanced. The topping was super tasty and crispy. The filling was wonderful and perfectly spiced. Very easy recipe. I used the 'Basic Flaky Pie Crust' recipe from this site and rolled it really thin and it turned out perfect. Don't forget to brush the crust with egg white, poke holes in the bottom of the crust and par-bake it for 10 minutes. Then let it cool somewhat and pour the filling inside. This will prevent the crust from becoming soggy, and will add a nice color to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
this was fantastic!! my mom and i made our own crust and the crumbs on top just made it that much better. so much flavor! absolutely will make this again. was great without the nuts and raisins, why complicate something so simple and delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious! I had some left over dough from the crust I made, so I put a latticework patten on the top! It called for more baking time to brown the extra dough on top, but I think it helped to soften the apples more too. Sweet apple pie, just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairene Dotinga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My family loved this pie. Only changes I made was using 3 tablespoons of flour on the apples because mine had been frozen and were really juicy. I added pecans instead of walnuts and doubled the topping. The pie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Big hit was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
i made the recipe exact and it came out perfect! I have also been able to play with the recipe and it comes out great every time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
changed it a little. Added Walnuts & Raisins Apple mixture. Then added about a Tsp. Butter Dices on top of Apple Mixture and then sprinkled it with ground cloves (not much). The extra butter helped for I made extra topping by increasing the sugars/flour to 3/4 Cup and 1/2 Tsp of Butter. I didn't use all of this, but it made for a thicker topping.... Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Didn't add raisins or walnuts but did everything in recipe exact and turned out amazing. Will be making in the future. Didn't need to double the topping. And I used granny smith apples. Mine wasn't runny at all and we ate it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Baldwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States