Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this recipe with my Food and Nutrition class. My students really enjoyed it. The recipe was easy to follow and tastes great. We had to turn up the baking temperature (375) to make sure it cooked in the allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Easy to make and delicious! Make two if you want a bite because first one disappears :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Used Fuji apples and added some chopped nuts into the topping - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made a 9x13 inch pan of this by adding in two more large apples and doubling the crust part. It turned out really well, lasted less than 24 hours and I'll be doing it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is an awesome recipe... reminiscent of my mother's all those years ago. I love that there is plenty of crisp topping to go with the apples, unlike many recipes. And if you leave it uncovered the first 12 hours after baking, it'll stay nice and crisp for the duration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Followed the instruction to the T, except reduced both white and brown sugar to only half. Family loves it, making it for Christmas desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious - my favorite apple crisp recipe. I am lazy and don't peel my apples and it comes out wonderfully. Also, this definitely takes longer than the recommended cooking time. For those people who say the apples are dry and hard, you may not be using "cooking" apples (pick apples that are recommended for apple pies) and/or cooking long enough. Test the apples with a toothpick or knife to see if they are soft enough for your taste. I don't like crisp apples in my apple crisp (just the topping!), so don't assume the recipe is done within the 40-minute cooking time. I cooked for at least an hour. I also often double this recipe, because my family gobbles it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious and easy to throw together.....just a perfect fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this the first time according to directions. For me was way to sweet. So next time I made this I cut back on the brown sugar in the crisp. I used 3/4ths of a cup instead of a cup. Tasted way better and was able to tell more of the flavors. The original was all sugar but with cutting back the brown sugar. I was able to taste the oats, cinnamon (which I also increased a 1/2 teaspoon in the apples and in the crisp. I love cinnamon) And could also taste the apples that time. Hope this review helps those that dont like things quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cepak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
By far, the best apple crisp I have ever made!! I love the "crisp" of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States