Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Tried this tonight & it was really good! I am a novice & I was able to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
No two ways about it - this was beyond excellent for a simple apple crisp, in spite of the fact that the topping had oatmeal in it, which I generally don't like (but Hubs does, which is why I made this in the first place). Everything in this recipe was spot on; perfectly spiced and sweetened, an ideal ratio of topping to apples, and a topping so crunchy the person next to you can HEAR it when you chew! This was quite a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used Granny Smith apples in this apple crisp recipe. I actually made this apple crisp in my cast iron skillet instead of a 9-inch square baking dish. While the oven was preheating, I melted a few tablespoons of butter in the skillet, then layered the apple mixture over the melted butter, then sprinkled the topping over the apple mixture. My apple crisp looked like something you'd see on the cover of a fancy magazine and the flavor took me back to when I was little and eating my Grandma's apple crisp. VERY good and for me, very soul-soothing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent....my family and company loved it....I used Jona Gold, Crimson Crisp and Fuji apples picked from the local orchard. I also doubled the apples and kept the topping measurments the same. This loaded up a 9x13 pan. Served warm with vanilla bean ice cream. Just amazing...loved the crunch in the topping from the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
CRISP! So glad I went with this recipe, four thumbs ways up! (My roommate) and I both went for seconds, this was the perfect apple crisp and it could not have been easier to make. Perfect ratio of apple/topping. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This an excellent recipe. No frills, the taste of the apples comes thru nicely and there is a good balance of topping and fruit. I did have to bake it for about an hour. It may be my oven which is gas and I am not use to it yet. If your fruit does not hold together as you would like, just add one tablespoon of cornstarch to the sugar and cinnamon before you mix it with the apples. I also like nutmeg and a few grates of whole nutmeg in the apples and the crust adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Simple and delicious! Topping is crunchy, excellent flavor. I used Cripps pink(pink lady) apples. I cut down some sugar and drizzled a bit of agave syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This apple crisp was amazing!!! my friends went crazy over it! I used honeycrisp apples and added caramel on the top!! Delicious!!! five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Wonderful! Very easy to make and tasted great. Other apple crisp recipes I've made had other stuff in the filling (water, apple juice, more sugar, etc.) so I was a bit uncertain about the total simplicity of this one, but it was great. I didn't find the filling dry or anything (though more liquidy would have been fine too). I did think 6 apples was kind of a lot for the pan size called for, but I used Gala apples which are on the big side for apples, so that could be the reason. You could stretch this to more servings too; four servings would be very generous portions. I got six servings out of my pan and we still thought the portions were quite a good size. I happened to have a bottle of caramel ice cream topping in the fridge, so I drizzled that on each serving and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States