Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. I thought I had oats so forged ahead making it and discovered I had none! I used Uncle Bob's 5 Grain Rolled Hot Cereal instead and it turned out awesome! Delicious flavor with the apples (I used granny smith) and cinnamon. Definitely will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Mine didn't turn out as yummy as the picture looked. It was kind of dry and fell apart too easily. The apples didn't cook enough in the 40 minutes and it didn't bind together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Really good, and I don't care for baked apple anything! Only change I will make next time is add some chopped walnuts to crust mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe because of how little sugar was mixed in with the apples. I was looking for a recipe that highlighted the apple taste without being too sweet. The apple part came out fine-used granny smith's. However the topping was way too sweet for our tastes although it did have a nice crunchy texture. I will try again but next time usimg less brown sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I thought I had oats on hand but all I had were steel cut oats - and after a google search, I discovered that the two are not exchangeable. Sigh. So I replaced the oats with equal part walnuts and it worked!!! Absolutely fabulous. So if you're looking to lower the carb count and add some crunch, try nuts! This is also 100 times better when warm. While delicious cold, it just doesn't hold a candle to how good this is when warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was super! I made it as directed except I only had 1 minute quick oatmeal. This was WONDERFUL!!!! My husband would eat this every night if he could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe, I've made it a couple times both times everybody loved it. I followed it but for one minor change,I softened the butter just a smidge and mixed with my hands. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is my favorite "crisp" recipe! I have used many kinds of fruit with the toppings. So easy to whip together and great served with some vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I added 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup and used brown sugar in the apples with a tbsp. of flour. I used soft butter mixed into the oatmeal mix. Turned out just like most other old fashioned crisps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States