Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Using Granny Smith apples, and 5T of butter as one other reviewer suggested, this was excellent and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This came out very good but, in my opinion, it could have had half the amount of topping for the amount of apples (I used 9 medium-large apples). Also, I would increase the amount of cinnamon and add a little cornstarch to the apple mixture, because there was some juice at the bottom of the pan after it baked. I would definitely make this again with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We made this last night for the first time and it was fabulous! I followed the recipe as written (I even used cinnamon from a spice shop - yum!) and it was perfect. I do have a few suggestions that might help someone. First, I used Granny Smith apples. I think a sweeter apple would have made this too sweet for me. My apples were also on the small side (2 to 3 inch diameter) so I will probably toss a few more in there the next time. Second, I always have such a hard time with cutting in the butter, so I finally gave up last night and put the mixture in my blender/food processor and pulsed it a few times. The crumb was so crispy and tender and consistent - best topping I've ever made. Finally, when the timer went off, I was tempted to leave it in the oven a little longer because the top didn't look really brown, but I could see the filling bubbling on the sides, so I took it out of the oven anyhow. So glad I did! It kept the topping from getting that really hard, crunchy texture and kept it lighter and crispier. Great recipe and I will definitely be making this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is great just the way it is listed. Add some pecans to the topping mixture for added nut flavor. Don't forget the ice cream and carmel for a truly rich dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great tasting apple crisp! I left 1/2 inch of water at the bottom of the dish so when i mixed the apples, sugar and cinnamon it would make a great sauce. It worked really well! I agree that the smell is so deliciously intoxicating...i wish i could bottle it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is the easiest, most delicious apple crisp recipe. Only part of this recipe I can complain about is the part stating to use 6 apples. I like measurements. Depending on apple size this measurement could get your recipe into recipe. Just play with your own amount of apples you would like to use for this recipe. Also, I find omitting the sugar all together is ok, especially if you are using orchard fresh apples or apples from your own tress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe...made it with almond meal and coconut oil so it was gluten and lactose free. My daughters are all making it now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. I baked mine in a 8x8 baking pan, perfect size. I used green apples freshly picked from my moms tree the tart flavor mixed with the cinnamon and brown sugar is so good. Mine baked for exactly 40 minutes. Easy to make and goes perfect with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. I thought I had oats so forged ahead making it and discovered I had none! I used Uncle Bob's 5 Grain Rolled Hot Cereal instead and it turned out awesome! Delicious flavor with the apples (I used granny smith) and cinnamon. Definitely will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Mine didn't turn out as yummy as the picture looked. It was kind of dry and fell apart too easily. The apples didn't cook enough in the 40 minutes and it didn't bind together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States