Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this the first time according to directions. For me was way to sweet. So next time I made this I cut back on the brown sugar in the crisp. I used 3/4ths of a cup instead of a cup. Tasted way better and was able to tell more of the flavors. The original was all sugar but with cutting back the brown sugar. I was able to taste the oats, cinnamon (which I also increased a 1/2 teaspoon in the apples and in the crisp. I love cinnamon) And could also taste the apples that time. Hope this review helps those that dont like things quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cepak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
By far, the best apple crisp I have ever made!! I love the "crisp" of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Hi, I tried making this today - flavor was great but the crumble turned out powdery and a little loose. Any thoughts? I baked it for a little less than 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made it on a whim for dessert. Everyone loved it! The only complaint was that I didn't make a second one for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Simple variation i used on this recipe . Used a few small wide mouth canning jars and pressed the oat mixture into the bottom then put the apples on top and bake. Or cover the oats with homeade crabapple butter and bake. When its done and cooled place the lid in the jars and send them off for school lunches . The kids love having home made goodies in thier lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was much too sweet even with reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup, and the topping about double what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Excellent! The only thing I would change when making it again (which I will, vety tasty) is cut back on the brown sugar. It was a little heavy on the sugar....desguised the natural flavor of the apples. Still a wonderful basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Johnathon apples and sprinkled a little extra white sugar and cinnamon over the apples and dotted them with butter before covering them with the oat topping. I melted the butter and crumbled it over the apples. It was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Valley, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It is way too sweet. If I made it again I'd cut the brown sugar down to half cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue Pratt
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I added half cinnamon & half nutmeg to the apples! Just as good as Apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States