Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Had lots of apples & wanted an easy apple crisp without having to get ingredients from the store. Found this recipe. Filled my 9x13 pan full of sliced apples. Made the crisp topping & baked. Excellent!! It turned out great. Baked longer because of all the apples. Family loved it! Served with whipped cream. Very yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent...........I used paula red apples. Won't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I love this recipe, it was very easy. The whole family loved it too. I used more cinnamon and it was great. I will definitely use this recipe again. The only 2 changes I would do is cut the apples into smaller chunks (I used BIG chunks) and I would like more of the crisp topping- it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Since I'm not a big fan of cooked apples, I never keep recipes for apple crisp around...so of course he wants an apple crisp for his birthday dessert tonight. I made a few minor adjustments based on reading EVERY SINGLE REVIEW. I used 3 Granny Smith, 2 Honeycrisps and a Fuji. All peeled. I added 1.5 TBSP of instant tapioca and a squirt of fresh lemon juice. I let it sit at room temp for about an hour and it made just the right around of juice. I broke my food processor so I did the topping by hand. I just chunked up my cold butter and went at it with my hands. A bit messy but very effective. I used an oval Le Creuset baking dish. It was the perfect sized dish. My topping was piled high (I knew it would sink a tad.) I had to cook mine about 15-20 minutes longer which was making me nervous and I shut the oven off and let it set in there for another 10 min. I served with a homemade caramel sauce and homemade whipped cream. My family said it was fantastic and the man loved it. He said it was rich, the apples were cooked perfectly and his mom even said it looked so rustic and delicious that it should've been on a magazine cover. I didn't partake until a few minutes ago, after everyone else is asleep. It's delightful. The caramel drizzle and homemade cream elevate it to the next level. The crunchiness of the topping is heaven against the warm apples. I might consider adding some chopped pecans next time but we'll see...This is my new go-to recipe for apple crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yameseia Solomon
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Added 1/4c. Cake flour and an extra tablespoon of soften butter to the crumble! I also added nutmeg and allspice to the apple mix (just a shake of each) Viola! I near ate the whole pan myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yameseia Solomon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This recipe is good, but the topping is missing something; it is somewhat dry despite all the liquid that bakes out of the apples. Also, this is not a crisp, it is a crumble. A crisp has the same streusel ingredients, without the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great Recipe! My husband and I used 6 apples as it states in the recipe, we bought pretty good sized apples and actually ended up doubling the recipe and putting it in a 12 inch pan instead of a 9 inch pan. It really turned out great though! We also used rice flour instead of all purpose flour & gluten free oats because my husband is Celiac in order to make the recipe gluten free! The recipe was quick, extremely easy and turned out awesome! Will probably be taking this to Thanksgiving dinner with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Lee Muñoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was so simple, yet so delicious. I was naughty and drizzled another 1/4 cup melted butter over the top. So rich! I'm not a huge fan of "foofoo food", and the apples are the star of this crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made a gluten free version, no one knew it, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
AWESOME recipe, a winner for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States