Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This recipe is good, but the topping is missing something; it is somewhat dry despite all the liquid that bakes out of the apples. Also, this is not a crisp, it is a crumble. A crisp has the same streusel ingredients, without the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great Recipe! My husband and I used 6 apples as it states in the recipe, we bought pretty good sized apples and actually ended up doubling the recipe and putting it in a 12 inch pan instead of a 9 inch pan. It really turned out great though! We also used rice flour instead of all purpose flour & gluten free oats because my husband is Celiac in order to make the recipe gluten free! The recipe was quick, extremely easy and turned out awesome! Will probably be taking this to Thanksgiving dinner with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Lee Muñoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was so simple, yet so delicious. I was naughty and drizzled another 1/4 cup melted butter over the top. So rich! I'm not a huge fan of "foofoo food", and the apples are the star of this crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made a gluten free version, no one knew it, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
AWESOME recipe, a winner for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. The first two times I made it with cold butter. Today the butter sat out for about 20 minutes before cutting it into the topping ingredients and it blended better and made a CRISPY crisp crust. That's the only change I'd made. The measured ingredients were the same as the recipe. As for the fruit, we have trees full of big baking pears that are ready now so I've been using them instead of apples. Sometimes I throw in a handful of blueberries with the pears. Either way, my guests gobble it up. Tonight's crisp was simply pears with cinnamon and a little sugar sprinkled over them, and the best crispy crust so far. A lovely caramel developed around the fruit pieces. My parents asked me make another one immediately for them to take home. Can't wait to try this crisp recipe with apples, peaches, berries and whatever fruit is in season. It is excellent. Thanks for the recipe. It's exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a really great recipe! I added a bit of lemon to the apples which totally enhanced the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This replaces his quick I my house, forever!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was absolutely delightful. So light and crisp. not too sweet but the perfect sweetness!! My husband could not wait to taste it. The ingredients were things I already had here so I didn't even have to run to the store to buy anything. This is definitely one of my new favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
wow is the only word for this! super crispy topping wonderful flavor great with granny smith apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States