Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. The first two times I made it with cold butter. Today the butter sat out for about 20 minutes before cutting it into the topping ingredients and it blended better and made a CRISPY crisp crust. That's the only change I'd made. The measured ingredients were the same as the recipe. As for the fruit, we have trees full of big baking pears that are ready now so I've been using them instead of apples. Sometimes I throw in a handful of blueberries with the pears. Either way, my guests gobble it up. Tonight's crisp was simply pears with cinnamon and a little sugar sprinkled over them, and the best crispy crust so far. A lovely caramel developed around the fruit pieces. My parents asked me make another one immediately for them to take home. Can't wait to try this crisp recipe with apples, peaches, berries and whatever fruit is in season. It is excellent. Thanks for the recipe. It's exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a really great recipe! I added a bit of lemon to the apples which totally enhanced the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This replaces his quick I my house, forever!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was absolutely delightful. So light and crisp. not too sweet but the perfect sweetness!! My husband could not wait to taste it. The ingredients were things I already had here so I didn't even have to run to the store to buy anything. This is definitely one of my new favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
wow is the only word for this! super crispy topping wonderful flavor great with granny smith apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I just use the crisp recipe to put on my pies. I use gluten free oats and make sure i burn them just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sludy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Its just ok. I followed recipe exactly. It is dry and its not very sweet. I tried this recipe since it called for 1 cup of brown sugar whereas other called for 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Beaudette
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend for the first time he loves it!!! I up the oat meal it's the only way I can get the boys to eat health stuff is if they think it's candy lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is so easy to make and delicious. I served it at a dinner party and everyone loved it. I didn't have 6 apples so I used strawberries, blueberries and the one Honeycrisp apple that I had. I will make it again. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good crunch but way way too sweet. Will try making it with 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of a full cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States