Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was really tasty! I added 1/4 c. sugar to the apples and next time I would add a bit of flour to thicken the juices. I just felt it needed a little extra sugar to please my sweet tooth. I used 1 can of Ocean Spray whole berry cranberry sauce and it was just the right amount. I didn't have whole wheat flour so substituted A.P. and the topping was delicious! Thanks for a great, easy fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was delicious. I used Cranberry Sauce I from this website. I do recommend using Granny Smith apples, as the recipe calls for. I tossed in a couple of "unknown" apple varieties, along with a Granny Smith, but missed the firmness and tanginess of the GS. The topping was superb. Be sure to use whole wheat PASTRY flour, and not just plain ww flour! Thanks, Dishy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never given a one star review before...but this one gets my first ever, with no hesitation! I liked the combination of apples and cranberry, but the "crisp" topping was dry and tasted exactly like cardboard. Gross. I threw out all the leftovers...and there were a lot! It was a VERY dissappointing finale to an otherwise spectacular Thanksgiving meal. I could see all my guests were being polite and choking it down. I finally mumbled something about the topping being dry and tasteless, and no-one said anything..they all just stared politely into their bowls. I'll go back to may old tried and true crisp topping recipe. To all of you who want to try this recipe - pick a crisp topping from another recipe on this site. The one on the Maple Apple Crisp (by Crystal) is VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My kids absolutely loved this!!! They wanted it for breakfast the next day. PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was such an enjoyable dessert...thank you WhataDish! I did use homemade cranberry sauce (Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce from this site) & I only had 3 apples (two golden delicious & one gala) but I think that really was plenty. The crumb topping was soo good....but it was veen better w/ a scoop of Blue Bell vanilla ice cream. ;o) This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was such a good idea! It doesn't take many ingredients and is so simple. The vanilla ice cream on top is a yummy must. I omitted the cinnamon, but only because I am allergic to it and it was still lovely and my husband was much impressed. (It's hard to get him to eat deserts that aren't chocolate or pudding) Will make again.. I did make one cgange.. I added some vanilla in with the apples, but I really love my vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I am not a huge fan of cranberries, I usually only have one bite of the sauce at thanksgiving, but this was excellent and extremely easy to make. I served it warm over vanilla ice cream and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
THIS IS A GREAT WAY TO SWITCH UP AN ALREADY GREAT DISH.IT ADDS ALOT OF INTREST. I REALLY ENJOYED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coniston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is a great way to use up left over cranberry. I like to mix the apples and cranberry together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States