Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
What a Dish! you are right on with this recipe. I loved it and it is so flexible. I found the topping to be fabulous (Evie read the ingredients ~ NOT whole wheat flour, whole wheat PASTRY flour ~ that could why yours was not good). I used a big round stoneware dish which was a little bigger than an 8 or nine inch square baking dish because I had about 8 granny smith apples that I wanted to use up. I had two different cranberry sauce leftovers ~ one sweet and one tart with some pineapple in it ~ threw both of them in there and stirred them with the apples ~ added about 1/4 extra cup of oatmeal into the topping mixture since my dish was bigger. Cooked for 50 minutes. Fantastic!!! I would say that any negative reviews on this recipe would be the result of operator error ~ not the fault of the recipe ~ a great and flexible recipe ~ will be my go to recipe now for the topping on any kind of fruit crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is especially yummy if you take the refrigerator sugar cookie dough that comes in a roll and slice it like if you were making cookies but instead place over the apple/cranberry mixture. I also add nuts to the apple mixture. Easy and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Not a favorite with us but a good recipe. Others at Thanksgiving enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
i was looking for someway to use and not waste my whole cranberry sauce. I changed a few things but i agree with the crispness of a granny smith and I also used my own crumb topping. but good basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make, it will be at the top of my list for Desserts. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Healthy and delicious! This will become a holiday staple in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was yummy. A little sweet for the topping but still perfect for that sweet tooth. The blend of the cranberries with the apples is deliciously sweet and tart, topping off with whipped cream. I liked this cold as well as warm. When it is cold it is firm and has a good flavor.This is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Great flavor! Next time I'll follow the recipe and use Granny Smith apples - I think they produce less juice. At any rate, I'll probably toss the apples in a little flour to thicken up any juice that's produced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but I pretty much like anything with cranberry sauce in it. Although I can't resist commenting on some of the former reivews. Doesn't it make sense to try out a recipe first before making it for holiday dinners, birthday parties, etc??? If you don't like a recipe fine, but don't make an untested recipe for a big dinner and then be embarrassed when no one, not even you, likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States