Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe turned out quite tasty. I followed the user comment suggestions and used AP flour instead of the whole wheat pastry flour. Others had mentioned that this dish tended to get too juicy, so I tossed a little flour into the cranberry/apple mix. Overall, this was a simple dessert that was easy to make - Homey and tasty, but not going to "wow" anyone either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Based on Evie's review, I used the Maple Apple Crisp topping (by Crystal) instead of the one in this recipe, and it was great. I made this recipe as a way to use up a big container of leftover fresh cranberry relish I had made for Thanksgiving (pulsed cranberries, sugar, triple sec, and orange juice and zest). It was great. A very nice balance of zesty vs. sweet. Careful not cutting the apples too thin-- mine ended up kind of like applesauce. Still tasted good, but I would have liked a little more texture to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
What a Dish! you are right on with this recipe. I loved it and it is so flexible. I found the topping to be fabulous (Evie read the ingredients ~ NOT whole wheat flour, whole wheat PASTRY flour ~ that could why yours was not good). I used a big round stoneware dish which was a little bigger than an 8 or nine inch square baking dish because I had about 8 granny smith apples that I wanted to use up. I had two different cranberry sauce leftovers ~ one sweet and one tart with some pineapple in it ~ threw both of them in there and stirred them with the apples ~ added about 1/4 extra cup of oatmeal into the topping mixture since my dish was bigger. Cooked for 50 minutes. Fantastic!!! I would say that any negative reviews on this recipe would be the result of operator error ~ not the fault of the recipe ~ a great and flexible recipe ~ will be my go to recipe now for the topping on any kind of fruit crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is especially yummy if you take the refrigerator sugar cookie dough that comes in a roll and slice it like if you were making cookies but instead place over the apple/cranberry mixture. I also add nuts to the apple mixture. Easy and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Not a favorite with us but a good recipe. Others at Thanksgiving enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
i was looking for someway to use and not waste my whole cranberry sauce. I changed a few things but i agree with the crispness of a granny smith and I also used my own crumb topping. but good basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make, it will be at the top of my list for Desserts. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Healthy and delicious! This will become a holiday staple in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was yummy. A little sweet for the topping but still perfect for that sweet tooth. The blend of the cranberries with the apples is deliciously sweet and tart, topping off with whipped cream. I liked this cold as well as warm. When it is cold it is firm and has a good flavor.This is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States