Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this for a neighbor, and then had to make another one for my family. I was extremely pleased with the way it turned out. I made is according to the recipe, except for the flour because I only had white flour on hand. Very good - will definitely make it again, and it will probably be on the dessert table for the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Can I say YUM!!! I make my own cranberry sauce and this was the perfect way to use up the leftovers. Hubby and I ate it as Thanksgiving dessert and as breakfast the next morning (oops, all gone!). We both LOVED it and this will become our standard Thanksgiving dessert from now on. Not only is it delicious, it's super easy! I used regular white flour for the topping. There are very few ingredients in this recipe, but don't let that fool you - it's packed full of flavor and even better topped with vanilla bean icecream! I don't understand the reviewer who said her topping tasted like cardboard and nobody ate it. I don't know WHAT she put in it, but the topping is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Really good but I increased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this into 2 individual servings to use up some leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. This is my new favorite apple crisp recipe. I used Braeburn apples (because that is what I had to use up) and homemade cranberry sauce. The combination of flavors with the buttery, crumbly topping was perfect. I polished off both of the ramekins in a weekend's time and enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was good. I used white all purpose flour and a little more brown sugar (1 cup of each, flour, oats, sugar) and one teaspoon cinnamon. Then added a pinch of salt (I checked out the recipe for Maple Apple Crisp by Crystal, and it was very, very similar). I could not get the cold butter to mix in and I was in a bit of a hurry so I put the toppings in the microwave for 30 seconds and then mixed them together. (the toppings were wet and crumbly). We ate it hot with vanilla ice cream. Great way to use up the left over cranberry sauce. My husband really like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We made this for company one night and liked it so much we made it again within the week! We found it was exceptionally good with homemade sauce and very thinly sliced apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrewandvictoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe turned out quite tasty. I followed the user comment suggestions and used AP flour instead of the whole wheat pastry flour. Others had mentioned that this dish tended to get too juicy, so I tossed a little flour into the cranberry/apple mix. Overall, this was a simple dessert that was easy to make - Homey and tasty, but not going to "wow" anyone either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Based on Evie's review, I used the Maple Apple Crisp topping (by Crystal) instead of the one in this recipe, and it was great. I made this recipe as a way to use up a big container of leftover fresh cranberry relish I had made for Thanksgiving (pulsed cranberries, sugar, triple sec, and orange juice and zest). It was great. A very nice balance of zesty vs. sweet. Careful not cutting the apples too thin-- mine ended up kind of like applesauce. Still tasted good, but I would have liked a little more texture to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States