Apple Crisp IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Should of read the other reviews, not sure what I was thinking. Too much flour was dry topping. I substituted a couple apples for a couple pears. I will defiantly try this again see if I can tweak and get it to that five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It will be hard to finish the pan. It is mushy and seems like a lot of butter and sugar on apples rather than apple crisp. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I liked this, but had a few issues. Something seemed a bit off with the topping. There was way too much butter, it got a bit greasy and soggy. And the topping was not as "crumbly" as most other crumbles. It tasted great but I didn't love the texture. Next time I will cut down on the butter and the flour and see if that's better. I will also slice my apples THICKER next time so they don't get so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Don't tell grandma but THIS is the best! I didn't change a thing and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was amazing, exactly as written. We loved it and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent Recipe! My entire family loved it. The only change I will make next time is to use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I used a less firm apple (Macs) because I like my apple crisp to be more mushy... this recipe was soooo good! It was like a cake with a delicious apple filling inside. I will always be using this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I was looking for a "different and hearty" apple crisp and used this one since the oatmeal appealed to me. I only gave it 3 stars because I used the recipe more as a guide since I could tell it needed more. I knew it would be dry as others have stated since nothing is done or added to the apples. The instructions are vague and assume the cook knows exactly what to do. If a beginner followed this recipe I could see a lot of errors happening. Here are the changes I made: I cut the flower down to 1.5 cups and increased the oats to 2.5 cups. I love cinnamon so I increased it to 1 Tbs. I used the full amount of butter but used it cold cut in 1/2" cubes like you would in pie crust and cut the mix as you would a pie crust to pea size crumble. I used 10 med. apples (considerably more than 2 quarts) and tossed them with 1 Tbs. of lemon juice, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 Tbs. of cinnamon. I rested the apples to form liquid and strained out the liquid before adding the apples over 1/3 or the crumble slightly packed on the bottom of the baking dish. I whisked 3 Tbs. of corn starch (I would have used tapioca but didn't have any) to the strained liquid and drizzled over the apples before crumbling the remaining 2/3 of the crumble over the top. I baked it longer at 1 hour and rested the crisp for an hour before serving. It came out AWESOME!! Very juicy thickened sauce. I found my new apple crisp recipe! The family raved and said it was the BEST they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I really liked that there is an oatmeal crumb mixture on the top and bottom of this crisp. I did end up needing more of the oatmeal topping for the top. I also added a little cinnamon and sugar to the cut up apples before putting them in the dish to bake. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and loved it!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States