Apple Crisp IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fabie Zimm
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I decided to toss the sliced apples in a half cup of brown sugar and a couple spoonfuls of cinnamon and it definitely added an extra kick to it. However, I ended up cooking the dish an extra 30mins to get the right crunch and the apples tender enough. I used red delicious and it was delicious indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I believe it needed less flour, or juicier apples. It turned out dry. The 'crisp' was very tasty, liked having it on the top and bottom of the pan. Was happy to have some ice cream for some moisture though. Will try less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't have nutmeg the first time around so increased the cinnamon, it was awesome. The second time I used the nutmeg and decided that it was much better using just the cinnamon. I also increased the apple a bit, but over all I will continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
thing didn't even cook...too much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Should of read the other reviews, not sure what I was thinking. Too much flour was dry topping. I substituted a couple apples for a couple pears. I will defiantly try this again see if I can tweak and get it to that five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It will be hard to finish the pan. It is mushy and seems like a lot of butter and sugar on apples rather than apple crisp. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I liked this, but had a few issues. Something seemed a bit off with the topping. There was way too much butter, it got a bit greasy and soggy. And the topping was not as "crumbly" as most other crumbles. It tasted great but I didn't love the texture. Next time I will cut down on the butter and the flour and see if that's better. I will also slice my apples THICKER next time so they don't get so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Don't tell grandma but THIS is the best! I didn't change a thing and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was amazing, exactly as written. We loved it and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent Recipe! My entire family loved it. The only change I will make next time is to use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States