Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I followed this recipe to a TEE and it was fantastic. I used all the water recommended and all the sugar. I found it not too watery and not too sweet. I did find that it took about 50 minutes to get well-browned, and I even turned the heat up to 400 after 35 minutes. I used hard little tart apples - Im not sure what kind they were but I think the tartness was what kept this recipe from being overly sugary. I think the right choice of apples may be key! Its a wonderful recipe and I will definitely make it again. EDITED: Since my original review, I have made this recipe 4 additional times with different types of apples and they were all pretty darn fantastic. I have decided that I like cooking it in a hotter oven (400) and it seems to get done in about the time stated. Tonight I tried it without peeling the apples, and it was very good this way as well - if you dont mind apple skins. For company, I might peel them, but my boyfriend and I enjoyed the version with peels very well - he even said he liked it better (though I disagree).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Can you say "UMMM, UMMMM!" I didn't have oats on hand, so I wanted an apple crip recipe that didn't call for any, this one was great! Very simple, though cutting & peeling the apples take a long time. I used five large granny smith apples and a 9X13 glass pan so I had to increase all the ingredients by half and it worked out fine. I mixed brown & white sugar as others suggested and baked it 8 minutes longer and got a wonderful crispy topping! I will be making this again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was really simple and delicious--vanilla ice cream a must. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the crust mix and sprinkled about 1/4 cup of brown sugar on top. Worked like a charm. It was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I followed some of the other reviews..changed half of the white sugar to brown sugar and it turned out even better the 2nd time...I made it for a Halloween party and it was almost totally gone by the end of the party..I had wonderful comments on it too..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I took the advise of other reviewers and cooked for 50 minutes. The top was real crunchy! I also used 1/2 a cup white sugar and 1/2 a cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Next time I think I will add the cinnamon to the topping mixture instead of right on top of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was delicious! Like others, I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar for the topping. Also I added 1 tsp cinnamon. We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. I don't care for oatmeal, so this recipe was just what I was looking for. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This was so easy and so yummy! The only recommendation I'd make is...use Granny Smith apples! I tried Granny Smith & Golden Delicious mixed, but it was the tartness of the Granny Smith's with the sweetness of the crispy topping that really made this dish stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Simply fantastic. I also used half brown sugar and half white suger with OJ instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was wonderful -- I do have to agree though that it was even better with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I reduced the water. The "crumb" mix wasn't really crumby, I think I used too much butter, but I ran out of flour to try to fix it. It looked more like apple dumplings than a crisp. But the taste was excellent, so no harm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States