Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I substituted a few ingredients with things I had on hand, I used Honey Nut Crunch cereal and instant apple cinnamon oatmeal. This crisp was AMAZING (served warm over vanilla ice cream - will be even better over cinnamon ice cream!) and got rave reviews at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was so yummy and easy! To make this even easier I used Apple pie filling. Added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to the crumb mixture. It also needed more time about an hour. Make sure to get some Vanilla Ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made some changes to the original recipe following the advice in the comments. I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the apples and cinnamon and mixed it up before adding the water. I also changed the Temp to 400 and baked for 40mins. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
While the recipe itself was easy enough, the topping was too sweet, I would definitly cut back on the white sugar. Also the topping didn't crumble as much as make a harden shell. The cook time took much longer than 40 minutes closer to 55 minutes, guestimate since I kept adding 5 mintues from 30 minutes - afraid it would burn. I doubt I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at making an apple crisp and it was very good. Did as others suggested and used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Cut down water to 1/4 cup and it came out perfect. Baked at 375 for 50 min. I will make this again, hubby devoured half of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious! I loved that it had no oats. I even used a gluten free flour mix, no one would ever know it wasn't wheat. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and added a few drops of stevia to the apple mix. I'll decrease it even more next time because it was plenty sweet. I also used 100% fruit juice (cranberry-raspberry) instead of water and used granny smith and fuji apples mixed. I don't peel! Thanks for a great recipe, we ate the whole pan tonight after dinner while it was still warm. I'm going to make it the exact same way I did tonight for Thanksgiving, and I will definitely make it again and would love to dry different fruits... Apple-berry, peach, strawberry rhubarb... Yum. I might even double the crumb. Not that it needs it really, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe was simple and so yummy! I made it for 3 people so I used 2 apples and about 1/4 cup of flour. I think the secret to tastier crisp is NOT to handle the butter/sugar/flour mixture too much while combining them. Just gently mix them together and sprinkle on top. I baked it in a toaster oven at 400 degrees for 35 minutes and it was perfect. We didn't have vanilla ice cream on hand but it tasted just fine without it. I'll definitely be making it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
"APPLE BERRY CRISP" VIDEO RECIPE. PREHEAT OVEN 375, BUTTER BAKING DISH. 5 APPLES(SLICED),2C BERRIES,1/4C BROWN SUGAR,1/2tCINNAMON,PINCH OF SALT (TOSS TO BLEND), PUT APPLE-BERRY MIX INTO BAKING DISH. TOPPING-1/3C FLOUR,1/8t SALT,1/2C BROWN SUGAR,1t CINNAMON, CUT IN 5T COLD BUTTER & 1/3C OAKMEAL. SPRINKLE MIXTURE OVER APPLE/BERRIES. BAKE 40 TO 45 MINS OR UNTIL TOP IS CRISP AND GOLDEN. I HAD TO KEEP STOPPING THE VIDEO TO WRITE THIS DOWN. PLEASE PRINT THE RECIPES TO GO WITH THE VIDEOS. IT WOULD MAKE EVERYONE HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good. I, too, added vanilla. I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I did not add it. I would have liked it to be crispier, but maybe the brown sugar will help a bit with that. I baked it for WAY longer than the time stated. Some people said to up it to 50 minutes...I went much longer...maybe 1 hour, 20 minutes...until it was gooey and bubbling. Delicious & I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
AWESOME. USED 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States