Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I used what other people recommended - half white sugar and half brown sugar. Super easy recipe and super delicious. I don't really love oats, so I enjoyed the taste of this apple crisp recipe more than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I used no water (after all, there's no water in apple pie if you think about it) and found none was necessary. Given others' comments about the topping being doughy I took heed of that and upped the amount of flour, using one cup each of the sugar and flour. Rather than a feeble attempt to evenly distribute the cinnamon by sprinkling it atop the apples, I ensured that would happen by mixing the cinnamon in with the topping instead. I also added a couple of handfuls of fresh blueberries because I had them to use. It turned the dessert a kind of weird looking purple color, but the blueberry/apple combination was pretty darned good. This is a good "go-to" recipe if you prefer apple crisp without oatmeal, but I do think it's important to increase the flour by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
PRETTY GOOD!WITH SOME CHANGES I OMITTED THE WATER. THE TOPPING WASNT CRUNCHY ENOUGH FOR US SO I ADDED A LITTLE EXTRA FLOUR AND SUGAR AND ADDED CINAMON! TO THE APPLES I ADDED A LITTLE VANILLA EXTRACT! PRETTY EASY AND A GOOD WAY TO USE UP ALL MY APPLES THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Quick and easy to make, without sacrificing the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Excellent! Our apple trees were full this year, so I've been working my way through the various recipes. This is my favorite...not only is it delicious, but it's probably the easiest recipe to make, next to applesauce. I took the advice of using a mix of brown sugar with white. I also reduced the butter by almost half and substituted apple sauce in its place. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious and easy. I had more apples so made extra (about half again as much) topping. I followed recipe exactly in terms of quantity of ingredients though I did use a combination of apple juice and water as the liquid. (I wanted to try the orange juice suggested by another reviewer but didn't have it.) I cooked it for 50 mins at 375-400 and it came out perfectly in that amount of time. I used a 9x13 pan. It may have been the apples I used (a tart variety of cooking apples from tree in yard) but they almost turned into applesauce -- however, it was delicious anyway. I added a handful or two of raisins. Will make again and thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I would use less sugar . Other than that simple n delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The recipe itself turned out good but when it came out, it was super watery. Everyone liked it, but for me, it was too sweet. Sorry but I'll try again soon. ~ Baker101
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I substituted a few ingredients with things I had on hand, I used Honey Nut Crunch cereal and instant apple cinnamon oatmeal. This crisp was AMAZING (served warm over vanilla ice cream - will be even better over cinnamon ice cream!) and got rave reviews at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was so yummy and easy! To make this even easier I used Apple pie filling. Added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to the crumb mixture. It also needed more time about an hour. Make sure to get some Vanilla Ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States