Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Making with a variety of baking apples gives this crisp a great flavor. Family and friends always enjoy eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Be sure to add nutmeg!! Also, I have someone that doesn't like rolled oats, so substituted for Rice Krispies (glutten free) and works VERY nicely. Lightens up thetopping as well, not so heavy! Had family matriarchs asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I didn't like this recipe at all. The topping was heavy (too much flour), and tasted like baking soda and baking powder (what was the purpose of adding those ingredients to the topping?) It was crumbly and dry, instead of rich and tender. Following the advice of other reviewers to omit the liquid was a MISTAKE! I prefer a juicy, bubbling filling. This recipe also needs salt, lemon juice, and vanilla, which are necessary to create a pleasing contrast of flavors. So it was far too sweet, only because it lacked other flavors to complement the sugar. This was not the gourmet apple crisp I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was my Grandmother's recipe! Yum!!! Love to eat alone or over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Tried it last night - it was excellent. However I halved the amount of white and brown sugar - nobody needs 2 cups of sugar! :) I did not use water and I added 1/3 teaspoon dried cloves. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Easy and we loved it. Used Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rottidogs
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Super easy and inexpensive to make. A favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
thought this was just an average apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was one of the best desserts I've ever made. I used 6 apples I think, and just used the normal amount of everything. The only modification I made was that I added 1/8-1/4 tsp salt to the crumble mixture. I think it needed it and it tasted great. Also, I forgot the water and it wasnt a problem at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this recipe for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. I made a few small changes but mostly stuck to the recipe. I cut 10 small granny smith apples and soaked them in a bag with a sugar mix (1cup sugar, 3 tbs cinnamon, 2 tbs all purpose flour). I let it sit for a couple hours to soak up flavor. I Didn't add water b/c there was more than enough juice from the apples in the bag. For the crumble I doubled the recipe (next time I will only make 1.5x b/c I had plenty leftover). I cut the butter instead of melting it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States