Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
GREAT! tried it without peeling the apples - PEEL the apples and DON'T add any water it comes out moist enough with most kinds of apples (I use gala).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Perfect! Except I'll cut the sugar from 1 cup to 1/2, the apples are sweet enough naturally :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9X9 glass dish. I used 2tbs of water instead of 1/4 cup and I think that was still too much water. I also used about 3/4 cup sugar and a dash of nutmeg to the apples. I'm not sure I would make this again. I think it was edible but I may just be a pie person. Update (half recipe): I've made this several times and settled on a few minor changes which make this recipe 5 stars. I used a little more than 2/3 cups of sugar (half brown and white). I used 1tsp of cinnamon, 1 tablespoon of flour, dash of nutmeg, dash of salt and no water. One of the big keys of this receipe is to let the crisp cool before eating. If you won't wait, all of the juices will run out with the first "slice." Update 3: I melted the 1/2 cup butter and added 3 heaping tablespoons of flour. I cooked the mixture for 5 or so minutes, stirring constantly (don't let it brown). I then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar. Mixture will form a paste. I then added 2 tablespoons of water. I brought the mixture to a boil, lowered the heat and continued until the mixture became syrup/thick. I also added the apples and cooked until the mixture was thick again (5 or so minutes). I also added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 2 dashes of nutmeg. I baked the pie at 400 for 30-45 minutes. Allowed the crisp to cool for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
What's not to love about this?? It was simply amazing. Not one bite leftover. I only used half the amount of water and it came out perfect, not too dry or too watery. Next time I will double the crust and add it to the top and bottom because the crust is my favorite part. Make sure to use crisp, sour apples. Otherwise it will be too sweet and mushy. We served it with vanilla ice cream and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
all i can say wow i loved and i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe. I made a few modifications: I cut all the sugars by half and used half whole wheat flour with half white flour. I also used half the amount of water as others have suggested. And for a 9x13" pan you want to one and a half or double the topping ingredients. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great flavor, easy to whip up. Felt the topping was a little heavy, would have preferred something lighter. Otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious recipe; we tripled it for a get - together and it was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitten lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
No wonder this has 3,500 reviews. Excellent. I made it as listed. My husband loved it (had 3 servings), the family loved it, the neighbors loved it. What a nice fall treat!. I baked it at 325 for an hour and then turned the oven off and left it in there. It was perfect. Served it with vanilla ice-cream. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It was a little too sweet with the full sugar. i might try to reduce that next time. only sprinkled water over apples. i think it would have been too soggy with a full cup. i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States