Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the water and it was perfect! Love this recipe! I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I love the taste of this recipe but it didn't have the "crisp" I wanted. I substituted Japanese style, plain Panko bread crumbs in place of the oatmeal. Wow. Gives new meaning to the word crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I doubled the oats and butter because we like extra crunchies in ours. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Turned out WONDERFUL! Just minus the 1/2 cup of water next time and maybe make more of the crumbly topping YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Couch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
First several times I made this recipe as stated, and it is delicious. I have since then increased the crisp since that's my favorite part of apple crisp, so I add another half cup of oats, flour, brown sugar and stick of butter. Otherwise this recipe is perfect as is. I'd recommend honey crisp apples or Red Ida; and if you find they are particularly juicy, you can forgo the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Good recipe but too sweet for my liking. I doubled the crumble and cut the butter in rather than melting it. I mixed the flour and sugar into the apples rather than sprinkling. In addition I added the zest of 1 lemon and the juice from 1/2 a lemon so I cut back the water to 1/4 cup. Also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg , 1/8 TSP cloves and 1 tsp vanilla extract. For next time, I'd use half the amount of sugar both in the apple mix and the crumble. Especially if you intend to serve with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Overall this recipe was pretty good. My daughter loved it. However, I will be using a little less white sugar the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I read some of the other reviews (glad I did too....) & learned that tart apples were best. All I had were red apples so I soaked them first in lemon water (then drained it of course)!!! WORKED LIKE A CHARM (very good!!!) I also only had whole oats. I fixed that by putting them in the food processor & pulsing a few times. I also doubled the cinnamon & added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Since I had soaked the apples & knew there would be some moisture on them I didn't add any water. This is a KEEPER!!! Next time I will take the other advise & add oat mixture on the bottom as well. Will be double-good then. Thanks for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I have never made apple crisp before and was not disappointed. The topping was so crunchy and delicious. I would definitely reduce the amount of white sugar by half next time around. It was super sweet and I am not a big fan of very sweet but that is a personal preference of mine. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for an easy delicious apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The flavor was good but the apples were too mushy for our taste. Next time I won't add water. I also cut them very thin so I will slice thicker. I doubled the topping but it was a tad too much so I think 1.5 the amount of topping would be perfect. Also added a dash of nutmeg for our taste. Great start just need to modify the mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States