Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We loved this apple crisp. I made it for a group dinner ad everyone loved it also. I used granny smith apples, which may have mitigated the sweetness. The only changes I made were to add about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and reduced the water to 1/4 cup (I forgot to add it until after the dish was in the oven, lol) It also wasn't served until it had been out of the oven for a few hours, perhaps allowing the water and juices to gel a bit. As a result, it was not soupy at all. It is my favorite apple crisp of all time. It will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used 9 Green Granny Smith apples. Put the sliced apples in a ziploc bag with the sugar, flour, cinnamon and added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Skipped the water (because I forgot) and doubled the oat mixture. Added french vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used and peeled about 10 cups of red delicious apples ( I think it was about 6 apples total?). I did what some other people recommended and cut down the amount of sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup and also added a pinch of nutmeg to the first mix. I also only poured 1/4 cup of water over the apple mixture, and when I pulled it out, I still feel like it was slightly to watery for my taste, but the leftovers may "gunk up" and it tastes great either way! I would have loved to try adding pecans or some other nut to the topping mixture but I didn't have any, but will try next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I had some apples in the fridge that needed to be used and I had been looking for an apple crumble recipe forever. This was the one! I read through all the comments before making it. I make apple pies all the time so I also varied a little with that. I halved the water and added a little nutmeg and it was perfect. My 10 year old daughter who I thought may not like it said "It was to die for"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Make this for my family at Christmas and everyone raved about it! It is my go to dessert! I used Macoun apples and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is a great apple crisp recipe. I use 6-7 very large Granny Smith apples, which made for a nice tart apple taste to go up against the sweet topping. I find that mixing the apples in a large bowl helps to evenly distribute the cinnamon/sugar/flour mixture before spreading the apples in the pan. I skip the water (per other reviews) and don't miss it at all--the apples release plenty of liquid as they cook. I also roughly double the topping mixture, as my family likes that part the best. This recipe has become a highly requested dessert at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very good especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have been making this for years now and it is time to give it the stars it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I found this to be WAY too sweet. The sugar overpowered everything, especially once it cooled off. If I try this recipe again, I'd cut down on both the white sugar and brown sugar. I also added a bit of vanilla, which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The best apple crisp ever. Used Splenda instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States