Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I really liked this. It's hard to judge how many apples (and what size) will be 10 cups so I just used 6 large Granny Smiths, sliced into 16ths, which seemed like a good amount for my 9x13 pan. Some of my slices were probably 1/2" to 3/4" thick, shows how big my apples were... I added no water, baking soda or baking powder because I saw no reason for their inclusion. I did add at least a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the apples and more cinnamon because we like our spices. Other than these changes everything else remained the same. The amount of topping was just right, it was perfectly cooked in 45 mins and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The first time I made this I followed it exactly and it was so sickly sweet that I wouldn't even serve it to anyone! I made this again last night with some modifications and it turned out way better. Use the Granny Smith apples since they are more tart than other brands. Also, replace 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar with half portions only. Next time I make this I plan to reduce the sugar even further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Shawara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe. It was easy to make and turned out great. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious and so much quicker and easier to make than apple pie. Plan on making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing definitely my favorite apple crisp. The only thing I would suggest is adding a bit of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Double the topping. Cut all sugar by 25%. Add 2 T lemon juice if apples are sweet. Cut water in half. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Hoping this turns out as I just realized it called for half a cup of water but no where in this instructions does it say what to add the water too. So that being said fifteen minutes into cooking I had to pour water into pan.....#fingers crossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good apple crisp. Next time I will add less water....either that or more flour....was a bit watery. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added nutmeg because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Silvernail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This came out amazing. My apples were so juicy I had a good amount of liquid on the bottom of the cooking dish. Not sure how to prevent this in the future. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this recipe this evening and it is legitimately incredible. The topping is crispy and crunchy and the apples are tender and delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/3 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup and I also doubled the cinnamon and it turned out wonderfully. Scrumptious and so easy! Excellent apple crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,975) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States