Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made it exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I like how the sugar/cinnamon sticks to the apples when it's baking because of that 1T. flour! Water is a must, otherwise apples are dry. Yes, double the crisp part; yum yum! (I think I'll try adding pecans as someone suggested.) (I'm not overly fond of nutmeg myself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Way too much brown sugar. It really ruined the apple crisp. Very easy to make. Used a bit more cinnamon and added a pinch of nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachimal
Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I made this and my family went crazy. This is sooo delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I've made this half a dozen times at least - a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yum! Family loves it. Here are the suggesting I followed: Double crust and put on top and bottom. Blend soft butter in crust instead of melting it. Lemon on apples instead of water. Added nutmeg. Yum.. Next time I will use just a tad less white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eashton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was my first time ever making any kind of crisp and it turned out to be so delicious. My only issue was that I didn't know how many apples equaled 10 cups, so I went out and bought 8 apples. Well after I had peeled and sliced all of them, I realized not all would fit in the 9x13 pan. I ended up wasting a few apples, but now I know. I followed other reviewers' advice about using Granny Smith apples, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly how it says. I will be making this for my family so I can show off what a great cook I am now, even though this recipe is extremely easy, but they don't need to know that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So delicious! Takes a while to prepare with all the apple slicing, but totally worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
There is a reason that so many people have made and reviewed this. So good so good. I used 12 small Fuji and gala apples, peeled and cut. I mixed them with salt, the sugar, cinnamon, flour and lemon juice and vanilla instead of the water. In doubled the topping and put some on the bottom. Cooked it in a 9 x13 glass pan for a little over and apple. Bubble goodness not at all runny. Crunchy crunchy topping. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used 9 small granny smith apples. I followed most of the recipe directions, except: I coated the apples in the sugar mixture; and, since so many people recommended it and I had one less apple, I lowered the water amount to 1/4 cup. I was so excited to try this, but it ended up being overpowered with sugar. I felt like I was eating sugar with a side of apple. It may have been because I had one less apple, and they were small....but, IF I were to ever make this again, I would cut the sugar on the apples AND the topping down to 1/2 cup each...maybe add some more flour to the topping to replace the sugar. I don't understand why some people are recommending to double the topping...gag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States