Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I served this as dessert for Father's Day dinner and we all thought it was SO good! I followed others' directions and doubled the crust- putting one layer on the bottom and a second layer on top. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, lessened the water to 1/4 c and used granny smith apples. It was EXTREMELY sweet and I'm not sure we would have been able to eat it if we didn't add a huge scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, which actually cut the sweetness. I'll definitely make this again but I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe was written and you know what...I wouldn't change a thing!! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I have baked for a long time and always make apple pies - our new Pastor liked apple crisps - so had to find a recipe. Tried this one and it was very good and well received. I also baked it in 9x9 and used only 1/4 C. H2O. Would recommend to anyone :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! The best apple crisp I have ever had, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I just made this and it's so good that it made me weak in the knees. Of course, like other reviewers, I made several changes to the recipe: For the apples (I used granny smith), I coated the apples with the sugar mixture and left out the water. The apples create their own liquid. I also threw in some extra all spice to the apples. For the topping, I doubled the recipe and put some of it on the bottom of the pan before putting on the apples. I also threw in some additional all spice and cinnamon, as well as some chopped walnuts. As it was baking I thought the topping looked a little dry so I cut up a bit of butter and dotted the top of the topping with small cubes of butter. I served with vanilla bean ice cream, and I will say this is better than any apple crisp I have ever had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I can't get enough! I have made this recipe so many times and just realized I've never rated it. The only thing I do differently is instead of sprinkling the cinnamon flour mix over the apples, I place the the apples in a bowl and just stir them until evenly coated. And I bake it at 375° for about 30 minutes or until the crisp is toasty brown. Again, thanks a million for a great recipe!! Oh, and if your crisp isn't crumbly as you are about to crumble it over the apples, just add a 1/4cup more oats. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
awesome! Some people say omit water, some - just cut in half; it dependence on apples, my was quiet dry so water was require; other than that excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Tried this last night in order to use up a bunch of eating apples of different varieties (gala, lady pink, etc). This was fantastic! It tasted super sweet, likely due to the type of apple we used, but it was great regardless. We cut the water in half and doubled the topping, both excellent suggestions. If using sweet apples, you may want to cut back the sugar by 1/4 to 1/2. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Making with a variety of baking apples gives this crisp a great flavor. Family and friends always enjoy eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States