Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great! I usually use the joy of cooking's recipe for apple crisp, and for some reason it never occurred to me to search the web for a good recipe... Well, I'm happy to report that this one is much better! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, maybe a little less sugar on the apples. When it comes to the "extra water" debate, I think that it really depends on the apples you are using. If they are juicy, they will bubble up and be delicious, but if they are dry, it is not going to work. I usually peek into the oven about halfway through the cooking time, and if the apples look like there's not enough juice, then adding a little water works magic. Some people I know use orange juice. It really doesn't matter, but you want a little sauce to make the dish really work. So for me, I don't add any water, and then check on it halfway through and decide if it could use some. I am so glad I have a new apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made it with half Bartlett pear and half Granny Smith apple which was a nice mix of tart and sweet. I left out the water and sugar from the fruit part and halved the sugar from the topping. (I used brown sugar as well). Even with that I found it a tad too sweet but that's just my personal taste. My boyfriend found the sweetness level to be just fine and suggested some corn starch or arrowroot in the fruit mixture to make it less watery. I also added a little bit of shredded coconut and cinnamon to the topping. It might have been less watery if I used just apples. It's a good recipe though. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe and I think this is the best apple crisp I've ever made. Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very good! Good ratios and it seems to work every time. Follow the recipe and you will have a great apple crisp. Use the same topping for other fruit crisps; it works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fantastic! This is my new go to recipe for apple crisp. I, too, omitted the water and used brown sugar instead of white since I never use white sugar. Next time, I will cut down on the amount of sugar with the apples as it was a bit sweeter than I like, but it is super yummy! Guilty secret: the leftovers are incredible the next day heated up with cream for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is easy to make, but HUGE on flavor! My husband usually just simply comments that something is good or not. He stated that this crisp has the perfect balance- I almost fell over! As many reviewers stated, you don't need the water. I used half each of brown and white sugars (Splenda), about 10 Granny Smith, and 6 Gala apples for the fruit base. I grated a little fresh nutmeg in with the sugar that goes over the apples. Next time I will add half again as much topping- it was the best part. The tart, soft apples play nicely against the sweet crunchy topping perfectly. My kitchen smelled heavenly, and my husband asked for seconds. Thanks, Diane, for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
good recipe, everybody loves it! will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
TOO SWEET!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Double the topping, half on bottom, half on top...my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Brotnov

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Yum, yum and yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States