Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I loved this recipe, it was very tasty & the perfect amount of sweetness. I used Granny Smith Apples & added a lil nutmeg to my mixture & that was the only change I made. 2 Thumbs Way Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is now our standard apple/fruit crisp recipe. It is the right level of sweetness and you can play with the sweetness for your own palate. The main reason though that I like it, is that the crisp is dead easy to put together. Not that blending with a pastry blender is difficult but its one more tool. Plus, the crisp always brown beautifully, and stays on top of the crisp. From start to oven its about 15 minutes. I add a little bit of cinnamon in the crisp part from time to time. Some people say skip the water, but for my kids they like the sauce it makes way better than without the water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyone1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this the other day with some variations suggested by reviewers such as less sugar, less butter, less water, more crust, and use an 8x8 pan. The taste was good but next time I will put half the crust mixture on the bottom because I kept having to increase the baking time when the crust still looked raw after 45 minutes. When I make it again, I will try different apples, decrease the sugar even more, keep the amount of butter the same as in the recipe, and add apple juice or apple cider instead of water. I think the liquid is important for steam-cooking the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen E Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I would cut the brown sugar in the crumble topping considerably...much too sweet for my taste. The apples can withstand less sugar as well. Also, I would change flour to cornstarch since it does a better job thickening liquid so it isn't runny. My mom also used to squeeze a bit of lemon juice onto her sliced apples used in pies/etc. to brighten the flavor a bit. If you slice apples thinly, you shouldn't need the full 45 min to bake. Mine were about 1/2" thick and the baking time was perfect for the apples without making them mushy but it was a bit too long for the crumble topping and dried it out. Since the flour didn't thicken the 1/4c water (I halved what recipe required based on reviews), I ended up stirring the entire end product into itself so the dried-out/overbaked topping could be alleviated with the excess liquid that accumulated at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My whole family LOVES this apple crisp recipe!!! I make the recipe as is, as far as ingredients go. When I am slicing up the apples I have the cinnamon, sugar and flour already in the bowl that I am putting the apples into. Helps them from turning brown on you!!! Thank you SO much for this awesome treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Loved this dessert it was easy to make, I added pears as well as apples (not enough apples) and it turned out great! We will absolutely remake this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is very good. I changed a few things as I am gluten free. I changed the flour for all purpose gluten free flour n it was very good. I also added chopped pecans in the topping as they come out crunchy and roasted. I also doubled the topping as we like lots. Very good flaver. I added some nutmeg like a few others in the apples and a little pinch of ground cloves. Used brown sugar but only half of what it called for. I cut just a little of the water. I also added raisins in the apples as we like that. Raisins make it sweeter so another reason to cut back on the sugar. The flour in the apples I also used all purpose gluten free four. This crisp is very good buy itself or top with vanilla ice cream or cool whip while warm n it melts on top. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
nom nom, words escape me for how tasty...nom nom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
loved this! it was so good! i made a few changes... i didnt use baking soda because i didnt have it and i also used raw cane sugar instead of brown sugar because thats all i had. I cant wait to actually make this following the recipe correctly! Oh and i blended the oats to make it powdery (personal preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStokes1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
A great dessert to have especially with a scope of ice cream which makes it both marm and cold at the perfect temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,035) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States