Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used 2 Honey Crisp and the 1 1/2 Red Delicious apples. I followed the recipe exactly other than putting it in an 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13. We thought it was delectable. The sauce turns some of the crumb mixture slightly chewy, which is always good in my book. It has a large proportion of crisp and I wouldn't recommend changing the amount of those ingredients. If you really like a lot of apples, I would recommend adding more apples. It turns out to be about 2/3 crisp and 1/3 apple in an 8x8 pan, which is just how I like it. We topped it with black walnut ice cream and it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is the best I have had. I have had friends ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I love this recipe. I've never had an apple crisp with a bottom crust, so I didn't divide it. I just piled the whole thing on top, and made the whole thing in a 9x9 pan. I also added a little ginger to the crumb mixture. It just adds a little extra flavor - I just dump a little in, but I Think it comes to equal about 1/4 of a teaspoon. The apples, get a consistency of apple sauce, but i serve this with vanilla ice cream, and it's just perfect. The top stays hard and crunchy which is amazing to me. I think I've made this 4 times since I got the recipe and I love it each time. We even like it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yummalicious. I did 1.5x the crumble recipie, just 'cause we like it. Forgot to add the cinnamon after I'd already presed half into the pan, so tossed half into the apple mix and half into the remaining "topping". Was groovy. Also used the micro for the cornstarch/water mix - 1.5 minutes, whisked, 1.0 minutes, whisked. Done. No way to "pour over" apples, though, mixed the slices with the thickening mixture (hand toss in bowl). Also used about 2 cups more apples than recipe. Probably could have used even more. Lovely recipe, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made the crust exactly and doubled as others have suggested. The filling I just used apples peeled and chopped, mixing a scant amount of sugar and spices with them. I did not use water, cornstarch or vanilla. I did use a 9x9 pan and probably didn't have to double the crust, but we like crust and it was good. It was delicious and not a bite left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I solved the watery issues we all seemed to have - you need to add more flour to the apple mix. I baked this in an 8x8 pan using the same quantity of topping mix as the origional recipie but used 5 cups (4 cut-up) apples, added 1 1/2 tbs of flour,and 1/4 cup apple juice instead of water to the apple mix. Then baked it for 50 minutes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe was not what I thought it would be. I agree with the others when they said the sauce wasn't good. I would not recommend this recipe to ANYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I followed the directions for this recipe and it was ok. It could definitely use a doubling of the crumb mixture as other reviews have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is the first time I've made a review. My family devoured this apple crisp. It was dangerously delicious! I made one day before yesterday, making another one right now for our LSU party tonight. I took the advise of another reviewer and doubled the crumb mixture. I used a 9x13" pan and put 1/2 of doubled crumb mixture on the bottom and the other 1/2 on top. The only problem I had with this recipe, was not having any left the next day! Thank you very much for the recipe. My husband, my dad, in-laws and kids cant get enough of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We all loved this kids included! Must use 8x8 or 9x9 pan, other would be too big and used 2 or 3 different types of apples for more flavor. Brown sugar crumble layers were amazing! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States