Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yummalicious. I did 1.5x the crumble recipie, just 'cause we like it. Forgot to add the cinnamon after I'd already presed half into the pan, so tossed half into the apple mix and half into the remaining "topping". Was groovy. Also used the micro for the cornstarch/water mix - 1.5 minutes, whisked, 1.0 minutes, whisked. Done. No way to "pour over" apples, though, mixed the slices with the thickening mixture (hand toss in bowl). Also used about 2 cups more apples than recipe. Probably could have used even more. Lovely recipe, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made the crust exactly and doubled as others have suggested. The filling I just used apples peeled and chopped, mixing a scant amount of sugar and spices with them. I did not use water, cornstarch or vanilla. I did use a 9x9 pan and probably didn't have to double the crust, but we like crust and it was good. It was delicious and not a bite left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I solved the watery issues we all seemed to have - you need to add more flour to the apple mix. I baked this in an 8x8 pan using the same quantity of topping mix as the origional recipie but used 5 cups (4 cut-up) apples, added 1 1/2 tbs of flour,and 1/4 cup apple juice instead of water to the apple mix. Then baked it for 50 minutes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe was not what I thought it would be. I agree with the others when they said the sauce wasn't good. I would not recommend this recipe to ANYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I followed the directions for this recipe and it was ok. It could definitely use a doubling of the crumb mixture as other reviews have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is the first time I've made a review. My family devoured this apple crisp. It was dangerously delicious! I made one day before yesterday, making another one right now for our LSU party tonight. I took the advise of another reviewer and doubled the crumb mixture. I used a 9x13" pan and put 1/2 of doubled crumb mixture on the bottom and the other 1/2 on top. The only problem I had with this recipe, was not having any left the next day! Thank you very much for the recipe. My husband, my dad, in-laws and kids cant get enough of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We all loved this kids included! Must use 8x8 or 9x9 pan, other would be too big and used 2 or 3 different types of apples for more flavor. Brown sugar crumble layers were amazing! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It's wonderful! I made it yesterday as a special treat for my husband... He couldn't get enough. He asked me if I was trying to make him fat!?! I've been on an allrecipes.com marathon and though he and the kids have liked everything so far this is the hands down winner! The only change, like others, is I doubled the recipe for the "crumble", makes for the perfect crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Way too much sugar in this recipe for me. Too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I love it!!!!! First time making this and everyone enoyed it including myself and I do not like cooked apples. Making it now for my siblings since they enjoyed it so much here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyn2e2s7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States