Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have used this recipie for 5 years and shared it with many family members. I usually double the oat topping mixture as this is my favorite part. The addition of cloves sounded like a great idea one Christmas, it was not. This is a great staple desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
WOW!! This was incredible! I mixed the crust ingredients in the food processor because I like the finer texture better. I doubled the recipe and still used a 9x13 pan. I added about 2 tsp cinnamon to the syrup so it was a nice brown color and had a stronger cinnamon flavor. The finished product was SO delicious and smelled wonderful. I've made a lot of apple crisp, but this is my favorite! If you're going to make the recipe as it is written and not double it, please use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It was good. Nothing amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was yummy. The only things I changed was that I made it in a round pie dish, and cut the white sugar by half. It turned out great, will make again. I agreed that a 9x13 pan would be too thin, that is why I chose the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I used gluten-free all purpose flour instead of regular flour, so I'm sure mine tasted different from everyone else, but it worked very well. The only gluten free oats I could find were steel cut instead of rolled so that changed the texture a little bit, but it also added more crunch. So that's an idea if you like more crunchy topping. I'm surprised that many reviewers thought it didn't have enough crumble. I thought it had quite a lot. I like that the crust is on the bottom too. I think next time I will try a little bit of cloves or nutmeg. Very easy and good. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
WOW. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I doubled this recipe before I read the reviews because I could tell there wasn't going to be enough to fit into the dish. My husband and daughter enjoyed it, but I found the crumble on the top not crumbly enough and it hardened too much while baking. I don't think I'd make it again, I'll search on this site for a different apple crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good. I added carmel and ice cream too! I followed the recipe exactly, only making a little more crumble for the top. I used honey crisp apples, 3 large ones did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHART22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This turned out very good. It needed more crumble mixture, so I added a little more oatmeal than called for. Also I had to bake for about an hour, but was very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States