Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I just finished making this recipe, and boy was it good! I did tweak the recipe a little though, based on previous reviews I took their advice to come up with something relatively similar. Instead of the ingredients listed above, I used 3 Granny Smith Apples, ¾ cup of all purpose flour, ½ cup white sugar, ¼ cup rolled oats, ½ cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1 egg, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon of melted butter. Like the recipe says, I first mixed together the flour, white sugar, egg, and baking powder; only I found the mixture to be a little too dry so I added some water. Then I sliced the apples (I left the skin on and you couldn’t even tell they were there) and mixed them with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. After that I greased an 8x8 pan and spread the apples evenly around the pan. After the apples were in place, I spread the “cornmeal” mixture on the apples and then topped it with a mixture of 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, the brown sugar, and rolled oats. Finally I topped the whole thing with the melted butter. The pie tasted DELICIOUS!! And it was indeed low-fat. I think I may have used slightly too much cinnamon but other than that it was GREAT! Thanks for the recipe, it was so easy!! I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Most apple crisp recipes seem to have as much fat as chocolate cake- I'd rather have the chocolate cake! This one is low-fat and delicious! The topping came out very crunchy- just what I was hoping for. I changed the recipe a bit by using 1/4 c. oats and 3/4 c. flour, as another reviewer suggested. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar because I like the flavor of brown sugar. I didn't feel that cinnamon flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I thought this tasted really good! I only used 4 large apples and I had plenty..I used 3/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup old fashioned oats. Mine didn't really have a "crust" per se, but there were bits and chunks of it which was very crispy and crunchy..loved it. The best part of it was that it was low-fat and healthy for you. I even left the skin on the apples for more nutrients and fiber. Next time I may use all 8 large apples, use a 9 x 13 pan and increase the topping by at least 1 1/2. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST APPLE CRISP I'VE EVER HAD! THE TOPPING IS SO CRISPY, EVEN AFTER A FEW DAYS IN THE FRIDGE (IF IT LASTS THAT LONG!) SO FAST & SIMPLE TO MAKE. MY ENTIRE FAMILY LOVES IT! I'VE NEVER MADE OR HAD AN APPLE CRISP, THAT HAD SUCH A CRISPY TOPPING LIKE THIS ONE. TRULY THE BEST! -SANDRA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
So delicious! I only ended up using about 5 small-medium sized Royal Gala apples since that was all that I had to use up. It all fit nicely in a 9x9 square baking pan (it was of medium thickness-- not too thick). I left the peels on the apples, as suggested by another reviewer. The only other changes I would make next time are to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping b/c I think it would be even more attractive. I would also not hesitate to mix the flour mixture into the apples, rather than just spread it on the very top. My husband helped me to make the flour mixture & had accidentally mixed some of it into the apples before he re-read the directions. We served the apple crisp with Blue Bunny's cinnamon ice cream (a limited flavor for the fall/winter) to accent the spice in the crisp. The combination was marvelous & was not too sweet at all! Leftovers tasted even better the next day after being warmed in the microwave. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I've looked for a VERY long time for an apple crisp recipe with a crunchy, almost hard crust like we used to get in the school cafeteria. This one comes close. We like it a lot. I used Honeycrisp apples and they were a bit sweet so I cut down on the sugar and also cut the cinnamon in half since we don't like a strong cinnamon flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very tasty. Everyone liked it. I would have liked it better if the cinnamon was mixed in witht the crumb topping and not sprinkled on top. It gave the appearance of being burnt. Overall, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Really great recipe changed the sugar to half brown and half white and the flour to 3/4 flour and 1/4 rolled oats also changed the sugar and cinnamin sprinkle to brown sugar and cinnamin and for alittle spice I also added raisins(1/2 cup) and walnuts(about 3 tablespoons finely chopped). Was a great treat !!! thanks for such a easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is by far the best apple crisp...I do not like the recipes that use rolled oats for the topping. The topping on this is so crunchy and the apple are very sweet. I did tweak the apples a bit by adding nutmeg, ginger and flour to make the apple have a syrupy consistency. Will make this again. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I thought this was great. I had a lot of pears, so I was looking for an easy way to use them up. I did not change anything on the topping and I thought it was absolutely perfect! Cooked up crispy, and sweet, and was delicious. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States