Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very tasty. Everyone liked it. I would have liked it better if the cinnamon was mixed in witht the crumb topping and not sprinkled on top. It gave the appearance of being burnt. Overall, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Made the apple crisp according to the recipe and found it to be just alright; however, I would not serve it to guests. (didn't love the crumb mixture) It tastes ok and is low fat, but I prefer a more traditional apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I've looked for a VERY long time for an apple crisp recipe with a crunchy, almost hard crust like we used to get in the school cafeteria. This one comes close. We like it a lot. I used Honeycrisp apples and they were a bit sweet so I cut down on the sugar and also cut the cinnamon in half since we don't like a strong cinnamon flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Easy, quick, great taste! I personally added rasins and walnuts, which enhanced the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was great! Much better than the one I used to make, and lower fat than any I saw listed. I took the advice of many who reviewed and cut the cinnamon down. I used about 2 teaspoons. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. The topping was crunchy and wonderful! However, mine did not fit an 8x8 pan and I had to use a bigger one. Maybe because my apples were dry, I also had to add 1/4 cup of orange juice to moisten mine up a little at the end. The flavor was great and everyone loved it. Thanks, Sande. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good recipe, with way too much cinn. Other than that I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
The apples were really good, but the crust wasn't. I'd cut down on the cinnimon and put brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I thought this was great. I had a lot of pears, so I was looking for an easy way to use them up. I did not change anything on the topping and I thought it was absolutely perfect! Cooked up crispy, and sweet, and was delicious. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Simone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
12/21/04 Tried this Apple Crisp Recipe today! It is the best crisp topping I have ever made. Yes I will cut down on the cinnamon on top also. This goes fantastic with some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. What a great dessert! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My advice is to use less cinnamon. My husband & I agreed that the cinnamon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States